Raid setup from a 2006 -> 2010 mac pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Macta, Feb 12, 2014.

  1. Macta macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    #1
    Hi,

    I have a mac pro 2006 with 3 hdd in raid, is it possible to swap these drives to a mac pro 2010 without erasing the content?


    Thanks!
    :apple:
     
  2. m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #2
    1. make a BACK-UP or clone (CCC) of the raid to external hdd
    2. move the disks to new MP
    3. format (and partition) the array
    4. clean install OS
    5. migrate all current users/settings/progs

    my $0.02
     
  3. Macta thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
  4. WMD macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #4
    You can probably do it non-destructively if you have the Mac Pro RAID Card, and you move the card into the new machine along with the drives. I doubt you have that, though (it was very expensive).

    RAID arrays, in general, are not transplantable into different hardware.
     
  5. analog guy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    #5
    is it a software RAID? data only or OS?

    if software RAID and data only, you can plug those into any mac (via an enclosure with the nMP) and they will be recognized.

    if it's the OS, there are potential compatibility issues if attempting to boot from it. e.g., they might have 10.6 on them, which would not be compatible with the nMP.

    no matter what, you should be able to read the drives.

    i moved my RAID (SW) from my MP3,1 to nMP.
     
  6. Macta thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    #6
    Thanks for your answers!!

    I guess its a soft raid, I had it installed with the Mac disk utility.

    The OS is also on it, so its best to install a new disk with the OS and use the other slots for the 3 raid disks and delete the OS on these disks.

    :)
    :apple:
     
  7. m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #7
    PLEASE make sure you make a back-up / clone before doing anything....! :eek:

    GL & Cheers
     

Share This Page