RAID two WD Blacks-How much of a speed boost?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by AppleWorking, May 19, 2009.

1. AppleWorking macrumors regular

How much of a speed boost would I get if I setup a leopard software RAID with two 640 WD black drives instead of using just one? I have two of them and I was curious about this.

I was thinking that I might put a SSD in the second optical for osx/apps, and use the two WD blacks that I have for writes to a RAID. Does setting up a RAID for the writes sound worth it? I only have two extra drives for a RAID so I don't know if it'll make much of a difference. :confused:

Anyway, I am really new to a RAID setup so I have no clue how to set it up or what would be the optimal settings... If anyone wants to walk me through it, I would appreciate it. :)

2. Tesselator macrumors 601

Tesselator

2-drive RAID 0 is about 1.4 to 2.3 times faster than a single drive of the same type depending on the kind of operation. Tho for most operations the average is very close to exactly 2 times. And 3 times for 3-drive RAID 0. Look at the results for "RAID 1 (2 Drives)" to see the speed of these particular drives run as single drives - a RAID 1 is the same speed as a single drive.

[​IMG] [​IMG]

RAID 0 profiles a little different than single drives. Seeks are actually a little slower even.

[​IMG]

Also the Drive Cache size is doubled so if it was 32 MB you'll now have 64 MB of about 2.5 GB/s cache memory. :)

SSD is good for small files - like, MANY small files. SSD's throughput is about the same as a 3-drive RAID 0. At some things a 3-drive RAID 0 will be faster than an SSD even. :) SSD is awesome for booting, thumbnail loading where on-the-fly generation isn't needed, spreadsheet and DB work where many smaller files are accessed, and stuff like that - I imagine your web browser cache would be lots faster too. 3-Drive RAID 0 is better for image editing, large file loading and saving, video editing, and such like that.