Railroad Tycoon 3 vs. Railroads

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by iPapa, Apr 12, 2008.

  1. iPapa macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    #1
    I used to play Railroad Tycoon 2 in another century. I quite enjoyed that. Railroad Tycoon 3 was released some time after, but I had no capable Mac, so I couldn't play it. Now I can. But RT3 is now some 3-4 years old (and far more expensive for OS X than Windows).

    So - considering that I now have the proper hardware (Mac Pro with both OS X and Windows Vista 64 bit) - should I get Railroad Tycoon 3 (Mac native, which is great), or should I get Sid Meier's Railroads! (which was released for Windows only in 2006)? (Why didn't this game make it to the Mac platform :confused:)

    Which one of these two games is the best? I will do anything to avoid playing under Windows, but if Railroads! is a lot better than RT3, then I might have to be convinced. Or - could Railroads! run via Parallels, VMWare Fusion or CrossOver?
     
  2. iPapa thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    #2
    *Bump* So many readers of this thread, yet no replies. I'm sure others out there too would like to get opinions on which one is the best - RT3 or Railroads. And if Railroads is the winner - can it run via CrossOver / Parallels / VMWare Fusion?
     
  3. mags631 Guest

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    #3
    Having owned and played RT2 and RT3 -- I think RT2 is better. Certainly, RT3 has better graphics, but I prefer the game play of RT2. I can't speak to Railroads.
     
  4. W0X0F macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    #4
    Railroads! in VM Fusion

    Railroads! in VM Fusion with WinXP SP3 gave me "required system not found". From the Firaxis WWW sire, I found:

    Minimum System Requirements
    Operating System: Windows 2000/XP
    Processor: Pentium 4 1.4 GHz or AMD Athlon equivalent
    Memory: 512 MB RAM
    Hard Disk Space: 2 GB Free
    Video: DirectX 9.0c-compatible 64 MB video card with hardware pixel & vertex shaders
    Sound: DirectX 7-compatible sound card or higher
    DirectX: DirectX version 9.0c (included) or higher​

    I'm guessing it's the graphics that is not right (running on a MPB, 1.5GB allocated, DirectX turned on in VM Fusion settings.) :mad:
     
  5. r1ch4rd macrumors 6502a

    r1ch4rd

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    #5
    If you already have Windows installed you can download a demo of Railroads. Personally, I didn't like it that much. Nothing can touch transport tycoon deluxe for me :) You should check out OpenTTD too.
     

Share This Page