Ram - 3 GB or 4 GB?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by macPuppy, Dec 18, 2007.

  1. macPuppy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    Kgs. Lyngby, Denmark
    #1
    Hi :)
    I have a new 24" AL iMac (2.4 GHz).
    I'm working with 3ds max and Autocad 2007 in Windows XP, and Photoshop and InDesign in Leopard.

    I have 3 GB ram in my iMac (1x1 GB and 1x2 GB).

    My question is, would an additional 2 GB block (Total 4 GB) make a noticeable difference in performance? Is i worth it to pay like 50$ for the last GB?
     
  2. bbarnhart macrumors 6502a

    bbarnhart

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2002
    Location:
    Stilwell, Kansas
    #2
    Start Activity Monitor. On the tabs near the bottom pick System Memory and look at the Page ins/out. Mine says 332671/162370. This means that I'm swapping a lot of memory from RAM to the HD. I've only got 1.25GB of RAM in my PowerMac G4.

    3 GB is a lot, but if you're not using all of it, more RAM won't make it any faster. But, if you're swapping a lot or some, then it will make a difference.
     
  3. themoonisdown09 macrumors 601

    themoonisdown09

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Location:
    Georgia, USA
    #3
    Like "bbarnhart" said, if you're not using all of your 3GB of RAM you have now, it won't make a difference getting the last 1GB. You could always sell that 1GB stick and then it won't be that much more to upgrade it.
     
  4. macPuppy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    Kgs. Lyngby, Denmark
    #4
    I don't think I need the extra ram then :)

    Thanks for the quick replies...
     

Share This Page