RAM - 667 in an 800 machine

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Love, May 30, 2009.

  1. Love macrumors 68000

    Love

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Location:
    Just southeast of Northwestshire
    #1
    I have a 2.4 GHz iMac Aluminum. Someone on these forums has for sale 2GB of DDR2 RAM but it's 667MHz and not 800MHz. Are these backward compatible? I'd love to upgrade.
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    Yea, I think it possible, but why? 667MHz is slower than 800MHz and there can't be that big price difference between those two...
     
  3. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #3
    In the past slower RAM will work but you'll be limited to its maximum speed.

    I'd get more than 2 GB of RAM though.
     
  4. Love thread starter macrumors 68000

    Love

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Location:
    Just southeast of Northwestshire
  5. desantii macrumors 6502

    desantii

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Location:
    Aurora, IL
    #5
    Works, just fine. I have a 4gb 667mhz chip and works like a charm
     

Share This Page