RAM Advice?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Ants42, Jan 14, 2011.

  1. Ants42 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    #1
    Hi, I'd like some advice on RAM. I have a 2009 Macbook Pro 2.26 Core 2 Duo. My current memory is 2x1GB.

    I found this deal on Kingston 2 GB Memory - SO DIMM 204-pin - 1066 MHz ( PC3-8500 ) KTT1066D3/2G via Scan UK. The price is £11.99 today only. I've always thought about upgrading and 2x2GB for £24 seems a good deal.

    http://www.scan.co.uk/products/2gb-...-dimm-ddr3-1066mhz-204pin-(pc3-3500)-pc-apple

    Does this RAM work in my Macbook Pro? If so, is it a good deal? I use Adobe CS4 (everything but Flash and Dreamweaver) and large CAD programs through Boot Camp (Windows 7).

    Sorry for anything I've done wrong, it's my first (and not last) thread.
     
  2. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #2
    Yep it should work just fine. You'll notice an improved difference in performance too.
     
  3. Vantage Point macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Location:
    New Jersey
  4. Ants42, Jan 14, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2011

    Ants42 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    #4
    Thanks! I think I'll go for it. Video looks incredibly simple too.

    EDIT: Done! Next stop 500GB hard drive
     
  5. Vantage Point macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #5
    Alos, if you are using some powerful 64-bit programs like Photoshop CS5 or Aperture 3, then consider an 8Gb upgrade which should be only about 50% or so more in price. I use these programs on my MBP and I easily see over 4gb of ram use in my Activity Monitor. The extra RAM will also keep previously opened programs in 'InActive" Ram and that lets you reopen those programs also instantly. For example CS5 takes up to 8 seconds to load the first time but if I Quit and then reopen it takes less than 2 seconds.

    See example below of my Activity Monitor screenshot using only photo programs
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Ants42 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    #6
    Thanks for the advice and screenshot. I considered 8GB but I think I need a bigger HDD first, both of which can't really impact my current budget too much. I'll have to keep an eye on my activity monitor.
     

Share This Page