Ram and the iMac

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Nyalotha, Sep 29, 2011.

  1. Nyalotha macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    #1
    Hey guys, I just got my 8gb ram in from newegg.

    I didn't realize the iMac has 4 slots for ram. I'm mainly doing this for gaming purposes. Is there a reason I shouldn't put the 8gb in the 2 empty slots? thus giving me 12gb ram?
     
  2. mobilehaathi macrumors G3

    mobilehaathi

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Anthropocene
    #2
    There is no reason you shouldn't, which is to say enjoy your 12GB of RAM.
     
  3. Nyalotha thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    #3
    Does it matter which slots have the 2's and which have the 4's?
     
  4. mobilehaathi macrumors G3

    mobilehaathi

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Anthropocene
    #4
    The 2's currently in there should be in the proper paired slots, so I'd just throw the two 4's in the next two. I'm not familiar with there being differences between the two sets of paired slots.
     
  5. malias4 macrumors 6502a

    malias4

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    Location:
    Greece and Holland
    #5
    Does ur imac support up to 12gb ram or its no problem?
     
  6. donklaus macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    #6
    Do both sizes support four chips?

    Looking at the BTO specs, the low-end 21.5" only accepts 2 ram chips, for a total of 8 GB ram (Apple specs, which may vary from actual). Yet the higher-end 21.5" accepts four chips for a total of 16 GB (once again, Apple specs, not necessarily actual), like the 27-inchers.

    Is that true - the higher end 21.5" accept four chips, while the lower end accepts only two?
     
  7. ljonesj, Sep 30, 2011
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2011

    ljonesj macrumors 6502a

    ljonesj

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Location:
    Kingsport TN
    #7
    From what i have researched the low end imac can accept 16gb and it does have 4 ram slots but thats from what i have found out

    here is a link to a guy thats putting ram in a 2.5 i5 imac which is only a base
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EW3ZFKMFurE
     
  8. Nyalotha thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    #8
    I can only speak for the iMac I have, which is the high end 21.5"

    and it all worked out and now I have 12 gig of ram :)
     
  9. donklaus macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    #9
    That clears it up - been considering a purchase

    I've been looking at the high-end 21.5", since I already have an external 24" IPS monitor, and think the 27" would be overkill. Plus, I have 4 GB of ram I just took out of my 2011 MBP that I want to use to bump it to 8 GB -- so four slots is a decision factor for me. Thanks.
     
  10. leeds utd fc macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Location:
    Leeds UK
    #10
    I have the entry level 21.5 iMac, and it runs fine with 12GB of ram.
     

Share This Page