Ram Buying question

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by brucem91, Apr 11, 2011.

  1. brucem91, Apr 11, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 11, 2011

    brucem91 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    #1
    Hello everyone. I am considering buying some ram for my Dell in signature. So it turns out that my Dell uses the exact same type of ram as my iMac 27" i7. As far as I know, the iMac by default comes with 4 ram slots, with 2x2GB ram being used for 4GB. This means that I should have 2 slots open, right? I was considering buying 2x2gb ram sticks, which will bring my dell up to 6GB Ram(4 slots as well, 2 are slightly more difficult to get to atm,currently has 4x1GB). I could then take the extra 2x1gb and boost my iMac up to 6 GB as well.

    Now, the question. I went on NewEgg, and I noticed quite a few offers I could choose from, listed here.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...06178 600000403&IsNodeId=1&name=4GB (2 x 2GB)

    Now, I have never purchased ram before. As far as I can tell, each offer has the exact same specs, but slightly different prices. By first glance, of course I would jump to the $40.99 Crucial listing. Is their a reason for different pricing? Is one package preferred over the other?

    Thanks
    Bruce

    Edit: On second glance, it seems the Ram in my iMac is 1333 Mhz, not the 1066. I know for a fact that the Ram in my Dell and the Late 2009 MBP are compatible with each other(and I know the MBP was 1066 Mhz). I was also under the impression that the Ram in that MBP and my iMac was also compatible. Will my iMac only support 1333 MHz, or will 1066 MHz work as well?
     
  2. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #2
    Get the Crucial 1333MHz, as you need that speed definitely for your iMac, and I assume your laptop uses it as well. If your laptop uses the slower speed, it will not work in your iMac
     
  3. brucem91 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    #3
    According to a google result when I typed in the Ram Model part that CPU-Z told me, the Ram in my Dell is 1066. So for a fact this won't work in my iMac at all, even those it is the same 204-pin ddr3 ram?
     
  4. brucem91 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    #4
    Interesting update, for those that care/may be wondering. As a test, I grabbed a 2 GB Ram stick from my laptop and placed it in one of the free slots on my iMac. Computer now reports 6 GB RAM installed, but the 2 x 2GB already installed now underclock to 1067. It seems that Ram will always run as fast as the slowest installed. Still, 6 GB @ 1067 has to be better than 4 GB @ 1333, right?
     

    Attached Files:

  5. MrXiro macrumors 68040

    MrXiro

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #5
    I'm curious about this question too... I have the same situation but I have 8gb of RAM... what's better to have 8gb at 1067 or 4gb at 1333?
     
  6. J&JPolangin macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Location:
    Thule GL @ the TOW
    #6
    ...if your usage needs to have more than the 4Gb of RAM avail then its better to have 8Gb at the slightly lower bandwidth then paging to your HDD with 4Gb of RAM at a slightly higher bandwidth...
     
  7. MrXiro macrumors 68040

    MrXiro

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #7
    Oh I understand that... but is 1333 even noticeably faster? Is it worth bothering spending the extra money on 1333mhz RAM over the significantly cheaper 1067?
     
  8. J&JPolangin macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Location:
    Thule GL @ the TOW
    #8
    I think that depends on the CL = cas latency of the RAM sticks.

    I just decided to get some CL7 RAM for my i7 2600K build that was a slightly lower bandwidth than the faster speed bandwidth RAM since that was a CL9 and supposedly the CL7 rated out slightly faster (and it was on sale for a little less $$)...
     

Share This Page