RAM - Can I have some more please?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Oktober, Feb 16, 2010.

  1. Oktober macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Location:
    Great Britain of United Kingdom
    #1
    I have a 2007 white 24 inch iMac with 2.33 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo and 2GB 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM running Snow leopard 10.6.2.

    I want to know can my iMac take another stick (1GB) of ram or more? It currently has 2 x 1bg sticks. So I would need to buy a 2GB stick to run next to the current 1GB if this was possible?

    I checked on crucial website, but it could not find my iMac with their scanner :( So I had to find it myself: http://www.crucial.com/uk/store/listparts.aspx?model=iMac 2.33GHz Intel Core 2 Duo (24-inch)

    So if someone could help me out, that would be fantastic.

    -Darren
     
  2. Oktober thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Location:
    Great Britain of United Kingdom
    #2
  3. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #3
    The knowledge base you linked to is for the aluminium iMacs, which were released in Mid 2007. They support 4GB.

    If you have a white iMac bought in 2007, then it officially supports 2GB, but some were able to upgrade it to 4GB.
    http://www.everymac.com/systems/apple/imac/stats/imac-core-2-duo-2.16-24-inch-specs.html

    PS: Are you sure you have 2.33GHz? I haven't found any model with that clock speed on http://www.everymac.com/systems/apple/imac/index-imac.html



    [​IMG]

    You can edit your post by clicking the [​IMG] button, as two consecutive posts by the same user are not really welcome. But it's no biggie in this case anyway, just for future reference.
     
  4. Oktober thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Location:
    Great Britain of United Kingdom
    #4
    Ahh, I see.

    Yes I am 100% sure I have a 2.33ghz iMac. Here is proof.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #5
    Nah, you doctored that. I'm 007% sure of that.

    Can you take a look at System Profiler and examine the Model Identifier and report back?
    [​IMG]


    Is your Mac a custom built order?
     
  6. Oktober thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Location:
    Great Britain of United Kingdom
    #6
    Yes, my iMac is a custom build.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #7
  8. Oktober thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Location:
    Great Britain of United Kingdom
    #8
    Thats what I thought. 3GB it is then.
    Thanks for your help, much appreciated :)
     

Share This Page