Ram capacities have been reached?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Gballa, Sep 21, 2008.

  1. Gballa macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    #1
    Im on an older white macbook, and my maximum ram is 2gb, which I already have. I may just be grasping at imaginary things, but is there an external ram or anyway way at all to upgrade my mac's ram at all. i talked to apple and they won't modify my computer at all, so I am stuck with a somewhat slow computer. Any ideas? Thanks.
     
  2. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #2
    No, that's it. If you want more RAM buy a newer computer.
     
  3. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #3
    Is your MacBook a Core Solo/Core Duo model, or a Core 2 Duo model? If the latter, what is its graphics chipset (from Apple System Profiler)? You may have the ability to put two 2 gig chips in for 3.1 gb of available RAM.
     
  4. Gballa thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    #4
    Intel Core 2 Duo
    Chipset Model: GMA 950

    So does that mean that i can get up to 3.1 gb of ram then?
     
  5. Metuas macrumors regular

    Metuas

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Under a rock.
    #5
    I'm assuming that's a Mid-2007 MacBook - I believe that it supports up to 3.3 GB RAM.

    I know Core 2 Duos can support 2 GB RAM sticks in each of the two slots. Even if you have 4GB of RAM, though, some will be constantly occupied by, I think it's the GMA 950 and other things, so only 3.3GB of it is accessible.
     
  6. Gballa thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    #6
    According to crucial.com's system scan, I am at my full capacity for ram and identifies my mac as MacBook 2.16GHz Intel Core 2 Duo (13-inch White). So are you sure that I can support more RAM. Thank you so much for your help so far.
     
  7. iToaster macrumors 68000

    iToaster

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    Location:
    In front of my MacBook Pro
    #7
    Your computer is able to support 3 GB (and a little extra, but that's the hardware being unable to recognize the rest of 4 GB that you could put in, so there's nothing you can do about that). 2 GB isn't really a horrible amount of RAM to have, and odds are it really isn't slowing your computer down too much (as long as you're a fairly average user). I'd go for buying a single 2 GB stick and throwing it in and the other 2 GB stick isn't really worth it if it's just going to act almost identically to a 1 GB stick.
     
  8. Gballa thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    #8
    Thank you all. I will just purchase a 2gb to go with my 1gb, and I should be good. Thanks again.
     

Share This Page