Ram change not good

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by computergeek, Feb 7, 2008.

  1. computergeek macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    #1
    trying to replace the ram but can't get the screws out. i have tryed 3 different 00 Phipps but nothing is working
     
  2. computergeek thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    #2
    come on someone must know i have waited 2 weeks for my ram to come can someone please tell me!!!!!!!!!!
     
  3. noodle654 macrumors 68020

    noodle654

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2005
    Location:
    Never Ender
    #3
    Look at the screws...are they stripped? If not, press a little harder, try to get everything lined up. You can strip the screws really easily!
     
  4. computergeek thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    #4
    yea...on the apple site it say its a #1 philips
     
  5. noodle654 macrumors 68020

    noodle654

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2005
    Location:
    Never Ender
    #5
    Damn...that sucks, you got a problem there. Go get a #1 Philips head then try.
     
  6. skyrider007 macrumors 65816

    skyrider007

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Location:
    Bangkok
  7. noodle654 macrumors 68020

    noodle654

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2005
    Location:
    Never Ender
    #7
    iFixit says to use a #00 Philips. If the screws are stripped than you are basically stuck. Can you take pictures of the screws to see how stripped they are?
     
  8. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #8
  9. goose1873 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Location:
    Erie, PA
    #9
    i had the same problem...trust me i tryed three little drivers including a 00 and non of them worked. Then i went to kmart and got a 2-in-1 (phillips and flat) eyeglass screwdriver keychain and it worked perfectly. It also was small enough to fit straight in. cost $1.99 (and came with a pouch). Found it in the check out isle...

    I would not push harder if other driver isn't working...then you WILL strip and then you have a serious problem...
     

Share This Page