Ram Config for Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by davewolfs, Feb 11, 2008.

  1. davewolfs macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    #1
    Hey folks,

    I am looking to upgrade a mac pro from 2GB to 8GB. I am curious to know if mixing and matching memory has a serious impact on performance. Should I buy 6GB as 3x2GB chips and use the existing 2GB of memory, or am I better off buying like 8 1GB sticks. I am sure many of you have gone this down this upgrade path, what type of memory configuration are you using?
     
  2. Jonathanoee macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    #2
  3. surflordca macrumors 6502a

    surflordca

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #3
    Faster yes but nothing you will notice. I bought 4 x 2GB and use the 2 that came with it for a total of 10 GB.
     
  4. thetoness macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    #4
    How did configure your ram?

    I want to do the same thing. How did you configure your ram? Specifically, where did you place the two 1gb ram sticks? Thanks.
     
  5. Volante macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    #5
    Can you install 3x2 extra anyway, don't they need to be in pairs?
     
  6. bigbird macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #6
    I wouldn't recommend either method. Memory MUST be installed in pairs, otherwise it isn't recognized. I'd get 4 X 2GB, and place them in risers A & B, slots 1 & 2. Then put your Apple RAM in riser A, slots 3 & 4. Buying 8 X 1GB fills all eight slots, meaning if you need more RAM later, you'll have to get rid of some of the 1GB sticks.
     
  7. Jonny427 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    #7
    To quote barefeats:

     
  8. bigbird macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #8
    Johnny, did you read the thread immediately above before you posted?
     
  9. benpatient macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    #9
    considering how close together your post and his are, i'd say it's safe to say that he didn't read your post, because it wasn't there when he was reading the thread.
     
  10. DeuceDeuce macrumors 6502a

    DeuceDeuce

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    San Dimas, CA
    #10
    I bought two 2gb chips and have two 1gb chips, how should I structure them.

    Do I keep the 2 2gb chips together in the bottom riser and have the two 1gb chips together in the top riser?



    EDIT:

    Never mind, found the answer at OWC.
     
  11. rpaloalto macrumors 6502a

    rpaloalto

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Location:
    Palo Alto CA.
    #11
    I would do this

    1. 2 gig top slot 1
    1. 2 gig bottom slot 1
    1. 1 gig top slot 2
    1. 1 gig bottom slot 2
     

Share This Page