RAM disappears when my Mac Pro goes to sleep?!?!?!?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by MacSeriously, Jun 12, 2007.

1. MacSeriously macrumors newbie

Hi everyone,

Since I am a newbie to Mac in general, whenever something weird happens to my new mac pro, I don't know what to do. And what I am about to ask you seems to be a major one to me.

My Mac Pro came less than a month ago and I've recently added 4GB of RAM along with the default 1GB = 5GB in total. The installation was a breeze. It took probably less than 5 minutes. I thought that was nice for a newbie.

The reason why I have installed that much RAM is to do video editing on Final Cut Pro and some motion graphics in Motion.

The issue was noticed a couple of nights ago when I started downloading all the fancy dashboard widgets, and one of them was iStat Pro. Like the name itself, it shows current status of parts, including fans, on my Mac Pro. Free Memory seemed very low (less than 500MB instead of 4.something GB) when I was running only Firefox. The reason why I mentioned about iStat Pro has nothing to do with the issue. I am just saying that I wouldn't even know there might've been a change in RAM usage status otherwise. (Now I pay attention to those things...)

To make this rambling short, the issue generally occurs after my Mac Pro goes to sleep. The screen saver runs first and then it goes dark. When I come back from whatever I was doing and wake it up, (not all the time but most of time) my Mac Pro seems to be missing the extra 4GB of RAM.