RAM drift?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by rockinrocker, Dec 3, 2007.

  1. rockinrocker macrumors 65816

    rockinrocker

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    #1
    since i updated to the newest version of istat meters i've had the ram usage meter open and it's kind of weird, but it seems like when i leave the system booted for a few days the meter shows about 50% usage, even when i don't have any apps running.

    anybody know what the deal is? i mean, i know dashboard doesn't open after a boot up until it's F12'd, but that causes a pretty small jump....
     
  2. Jiddick ExRex macrumors 65816

    Jiddick ExRex

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Location:
    Roskilde, DK
    #2
    The system caches a lot of information into your ram in order for the system to work faster (info for faster launch of apps and so on). Think about this: your computer doesn't work faster with more free ram :)
     
  3. rockinrocker thread starter macrumors 65816

    rockinrocker

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    #3
    so it' normal for more ram to be eaten up by system caches?
    and a reboot will typically empty these?

    the main reason i'm asking in the first place is that i occasionally use my macbook for recording, and need all the ram i can get when i do, so if all i need to do to free up as much as i can is reboot, that i'd probably start doing that....
     
  4. kaiwai macrumors 6502a

    kaiwai

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Location:
    Christchurch
    #4
    Yes, it'll automatically flush them as you need the extra memory. No need to get paranoid about it.
     
  5. rockinrocker thread starter macrumors 65816

    rockinrocker

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    #5
    ha, not paranoid, just tryen' to learn. :D

    so a reboot isn't really necessary, as these caches get flushed automatically if the rams needed elsewhere?

    thanks.
     
  6. kaiwai macrumors 6502a

    kaiwai

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Location:
    Christchurch
    #6
    Yeap, basically, the caches also buffer your hard disk, its is loaded into virtual memory which is buffered, so indirectly your application is loaded into memory. Hence, its a virtual memory operating system.
     

Share This Page