RAM error

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by NuclearChemist, Dec 26, 2010.

  1. NuclearChemist macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    #1
    I have a mid 2009 MBP: 160 GB HD, 2.26 GHz Core 2 Duo, 4 GB DDR3 RAM.

    The Mac has been taking spells where it doesn't want to wake from sleep. I've been getting this problem for about a month and a half and it's finally on my last nerve. Sometimes the System Profiler shows 4 GB (2x2) and sometimes it only shows 2 (2 in Bank 0 and empty in Bank 1). Does that mean my stick in Bank 1 is faulty and needs replaced? Would a reinstallation of Snow Leopard fix the problem? Please reassure me that it's not the logic board with the problem :confused:
     
  2. Kyffin macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    #2
  3. NuclearChemist thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    #3
    I've ran the Hardware test already. It shows everything as normal. I'm a recent convert as of '09 (definitely for life though). Coming from a life of Windows based computers I want to blame a virus, spyware, etc. I don't imagine that's the problem, knowing that Macs have virtually no problems in that area. I just need to get my MBP back to good health asap
     
  4. Kyffin macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    #4
    Sorry, can't be of too much more help at the moment- is the problem easily replicated? If I were you I'd be trying to eliminate as much as I could (swapping the sticks around, replacing them with any others to see if there's a difference...hey, you may have tried this already- just trying to be constructive)

    I take it you don't have applecare, or are just outside the year threshold? If the hardware test came back as negative I'd be very happy with that as a start, but if you have a store nearby the people there are often helpful.

    Post back with any additional info- '09 is way too soon to be getting hardware failures.
     
  5. NuclearChemist thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    #5
    I got the MBP in July '09. It was a gift and apparently Apple Care was not purchased with it (bummer, I know).
    I've ran the hardware test and it was negative. I've switched the sticks already, to no avail.
    The problem is easily replicated. For instance, I can be using it as I am now, then put the computer to sleep and close the lid. Then I can reopen it a few minutes later and the indicator light goes bright but the screen stays black. Nothing shows that the computer is awake. The nearest Apple store is two hours away :( but there is a MacConnection an hour away. I might have to go see them sometime this week and get their opinion (hopefully at a decent price, if not free)
     
  6. Detrius macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Location:
    Asheville, NC
    #6
    Swap the modules. If the issue follows a module, it's a bad module. If it stays in the same spot, it's a bad logic board. Software will not cause this, and software diagnostics (e.g. Apple Hardware Test) will not catch it. The RAM is either visible or it isn't, and if this changes while the machine is running, it will crash.

    The good news is that if it's a bad logic board, your machine supports 4GB modules, so you can at least stay at the same amount of RAM.
     
  7. NuclearChemist thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    #7
    Just saw your reply. Just looked at system profiler and it shows 4 GB RAM now. It likes to switch between 2/4 GB. I had to manually restart via power button because it was doing its 'refusing to wake from sleep' mode.
     

Share This Page