RAM for 15" MBP question.

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by drumforfun19, Apr 18, 2007.

  1. drumforfun19 macrumors regular

    drumforfun19

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    #1
    I know Apple say's that you shouldn't use two different type's of ram in the new intel macs, but is it really bad for them? will it not address two different brands of RAM?

    ps- I have a 15" MBP with a 2.16 GHz Core Duo Processor, and currently 1 GB of OCZ PC5400 RAM.

    thanks for any help

    -mike
     
  2. TBi macrumors 68030

    TBi

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #2
    I had a MBP with 1GB apple ram and 1GB crucial ram.

    At the moment i have a MB with 1GB crucial and 1GB corsair with no problems.
     
  3. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #3
    You can use two different brands as long as they match for speed. Brand is not the issue. Incompatibility is an issue however, if the RAM does not conform to Apple's standards.

    If you want the RAM to make a dual channel pair, the 2 modules must match for size, speed and composition (the # of chips, how they are organized, and the SPD settings). That's obviously easier for you to do if you match them for brand and model, and purchase them at the same time (because even within a brand, the construction of a particular model may change over time.)

    Thanks
    Trevor
    CanadaRAM.com
     
  4. drumforfun19 thread starter macrumors regular

    drumforfun19

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    #4
    Thanks Trevor, you're amazing dude.
     
  5. ahriman macrumors member

    ahriman

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    #5
    Trevor, what is SPD? thanx
     
  6. Bill Gates macrumors 68020

    Bill Gates

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #6
    The SPD tells the computer what settings the RAM is capable of. Speed, latency, etc.. Correct me if I'm wrong, CanadaRAM.
     

Share This Page