RAM for 24" iMac

Discussion in 'iMac' started by freeman24, Jun 1, 2007.

  1. freeman24 Guest

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    #1
    Hey guys,

    I'm looking into getting a 2GB kit for my 24" iMac and of course i was going to go straight to Crucial as i know it will work at at £60 its really a good deal. But i just came across this on ebuyer

    http://www.ebuyer.com/UK/product/98708


    Its £49.99 but you get £10 off with google checkout. I'm wondering if this will work with the iMac.. its the same speed etc but i thought i would double check before i take the plunge.

    Thanks Guys!!
     
  2. topgunn macrumors 65816

    topgunn

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2004
    Location:
    Texas
    #2
    Won't work. These are full-size DIMMS. The iMac requires SO-DIMMS which are primarily intended for notebooks. They are typically more expensive, too.
     
  3. freeman24 thread starter Guest

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    #3
    lol thanks! good job i double checked.. im new to the Mac so please forgive my ignorance. :)
     
  4. BBC B 32k macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Location:
    London
    #4
    yep that stylish enclosure comes at a price, the components cost more!

    i have 2gig in my 24"er and she flys - until i launch photoshop and my ibook starts to look like a speed demon. :(

    cruicial is usually a good bet.

    welcome
     
  5. macpro2000 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    #5
    Get it from Other World Computing...www.macsales.com or TransIntl.com

    I get all my RAM from them...it's a no brainer and much less expensive...

    You can get a 3GB kit (1 2GB and 1 1GB) from transintl for around $165.

    Awesome!
     
  6. sparkyms macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    Location:
    Southampton UK
    #6
  7. freeman24 thread starter Guest

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    #7
    Wow! cheers for those websites.. its great they ship to UK.. i can get 3GB for £97 With Delivery! Bargain! on Crucial its £170!

    Just got to hope they wont catch me with import Tax.. But Fedx have been very good every time ive had them!

    Cheers!
     
  8. Vidd macrumors 6502a

    Vidd

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    #8
    Let me know how that goes!

    Quick question, will Santa Rosa use DDR2 or DDR3?
     
  9. chipchen macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    #9
    According to Wikipedia... same DDR2 RAM we're seeing today. But don't start buying RAM for it just yet.
     
  10. autechre macrumors newbie

    autechre

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    #10
    I was looking at getting extra memory when I get my iMac. I noticed that Transintl.com has the Samsung 2GB stick for $22 less than OWC. Does anyone here know which is better to do business with? If I could save a few bucks, that would be cool. However, unless I'm missing something, I don't see anything on Transintl.com about the warranty behind the memory. I'm assuming it's lifetime?:)
     

Share This Page