Ram for Macbook Pro

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by gear2d, Aug 16, 2008.

  1. gear2d macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    #1
    I have a macbook pro and wanted to get some ram for it. I found this ram:

    Crucial 4GB (2x2GB) DDR2-667 PC2-5300 Notebook (SODIMM) Memory

    Will be compatible with the mac, and how good this ram?

    Thanks In advance
     
  2. greenmymac macrumors 6502a

    greenmymac

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Location:
    Tulsa, Ok
    #2
    I would just go to Apple and order RAM through them!
     
  3. gear2d thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    #3
    I would, but they overcharge for the same ram you can buy some where else for a lesser price.
     
  4. Bobioden macrumors 68000

    Bobioden

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Location:
    Denver
    #4
  5. Eddyisgreat macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #5
    No.


    Buying ram from apple is like throwing your money out on the window on the freeway.

    OP: That ram should work.
     
  6. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #6
    You'll find answers to this and many other commonly asked questions under the Guides tab at the top of this page:

    If you have questions that these sources doesn't cover, you can check to see if it has been answered in another thread by doing a Google search of the forums. I hope this helps!
     
  7. gear2d thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    #7
    Thank You all for the answering my post.

    Should I worry about the case latency, in this its 5? Or should go with one that is 4?
     
  8. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #8
    CAS Latency 4 RAM makes a tiny difference -- like 1% -- to real world performance. If you can get a $40 rebate on the Corsair CL4 RAM it's a fine choice, but it's not going to light a rocket under your computing compared to CL5 RAM.
     
  9. Smighty24 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    #9
    whats the real difference in DDR2 667 and DDR2 800 speed memory for a MBP? Would it run the computer hotter then 667? would you even see much of a difference? Just wondering.
     
  10. Firefly2002 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    #10
    Yes, 800 would run a bit hotter.... and no, you'd not notice the difference, and I doubt the difference in overall system performance would be greater than 2-3%.
     
  11. jaysinnva macrumors member

    jaysinnva

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    #11
    I bought a 4GB Kingston RAM kit from Newegg ($80), and it has been performing flawlessly on my 2.4 Penryn MBP. Highly recommended :D
     
  12. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #12
    Absolutely no difference in performance --- the MacBook Pro will run the RAM at 667 MHz regardless of the RAM's max speed rating. Your machine sets the speed, not the RAM.

    DO NOT get 800 MHz RAM for the current MacBook Pros, there are many reports of the 800 MHz RAM not downclocking properly in Penryn MacBook Pros and failing to work.
     
  13. bartzilla macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    #13
    Why? Do you enjoy being ripped off?
     
  14. bartzilla macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    #14
    If you picked this out using Crucial's own configurator, giving it the right options then
    1) It will work
    2) They'll guarantee the statement I just made in part 1.

    I do this at work and at home all the time for laptops desktops and servers. Crucial are not the rock-bottom cheapest in the world but they make a decent product and they stand behind it if you do have a problem.
     
  15. Firefly2002 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    #15
    Oh brother. I forgot for a minute that the MBP doesn't even use 800 MHz RAM, lol.

    What I said holds true for a system capable of 800 MHz DDR2.

    For one capable of 667 MHz DDR2, the performance difference is 0.0%.
     
  16. Smighty24 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    #16
    awesome. thanks for the help guys. I plan on upgrading my ram very soon.
     
  17. Tex-Twil macrumors 68020

    Tex-Twil

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Location:
    Europe
    #17
  18. Jurwin macrumors regular

    Jurwin

    #18
    I would like to upgrade my memory too. I have a 2.5ghz MBP with 2 gigs of ram. I was wondering if I can just buy a 2 gig stick from crucial and put it in my mac. Will the lat 5 2 gig stick from crucial play nice with the 2 gig already in my computer? Thx.
     
  19. Jurwin macrumors regular

    Jurwin

    #19
  20. Tex-Twil macrumors 68020

    Tex-Twil

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Location:
    Europe
    #20
    oh thanks. I knew OWC but crucial seems to be even more "europe friendly" :)

    The 1st thing I need though is a MBP ;)
     
  21. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #21
    Or you could like me, order RAM before the computer and hope it works. :p
     
  22. kingshrubb macrumors regular

    kingshrubb

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    #22
  23. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #23
    The Corsair VSA- models are fine.
    Compare with DMS and OWC
     
  24. Tex-Twil macrumors 68020

    Tex-Twil

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Location:
    Europe
    #24
    I'm not that brave. :rolleyes:
     
  25. Bobioden macrumors 68000

    Bobioden

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Location:
    Denver
    #25

Share This Page