RAM for MP 5,1

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by mostafiz28, Jan 15, 2014.

  1. mostafiz28 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    #1
    Hi folks,

    I'd really appreciate if you could tell me the below specd' RAM is gonna work with MP 5.1

    SAMSUNG 8GB PC3L-10600R DDR3-1333 REGISTERED 2RX4 CL9 240 PIN 1.35V
    MANUFACTURER: SAMSUNG
    PART NUMBER: M393B1K70CHD-YH9
    COMPONENT DENSITY: 8GB
    PRODUCT BUS TYPE: PC3L-10600R
    COMPONENT SPEED: DDR3-1333
    REGISTERED / UNBUFFERED: REGISTERED
    ERROR CORRECTION CODE ( ECC ): YES
    COMPONENT RANK: 2RX4
    CAS LATENCY: CL9
    PIN COUNT: 240-PIN
    VOLTAGE: 1.35V

    Will this work with existing 2 Gig DIMMs or do I have have matching pair?
     
  2. xcodeSyn macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    #3
    You can't mix unbuffered DIMMs (your existing 2GB ones) with the Samsung registered ones.
     
  3. mostafiz28 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    #4
    Okay, so I can't use them together since the stock ones are unregistered. So will having just one stick of 8gb have any performance hit? The RAM is pretty cheap, converting to USD comes to just $50.
     
  4. xcodeSyn macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    #5
    You'd get the best performance if using 3 X 8GB (for a single processor MP) since your CPU supports triple-channel memory. If you could use the extra RAM and afford them, might as well fill up the memory slots.
     
  5. mostafiz28 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    #6
    Thanks for giving me a clear picture. I definitely have use for large amount or ram since my photoshop documents are huge and while moving back and forth between PS, AI and C4D, I get huge page out files. I guess I'll get as much ram as i can afford.

    Cheers
     
  6. ZZ Bottom macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    #7
    Can you please explain why this is? I inherited a 6-core 5,1 Mac Pro and have been deliberating on a RAM upgrade. Are you saying it would be better to stick 3x 8GB sticks and leave one DIMM empty? As opposed to 4x 8GB? Is it best to achieve your highest acceptable amount using only 3 DIMMs for best performance? Is there a particular 3 that work best?

    Thanks!
     
  7. echoout macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    #8
    Yep, learned this the hard way. Use the 1-3 and leave 4 open.
     
  8. crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #9
    Slot 1 - Discrete memory controller

    Slot 2 - Discrete memory controller

    Slot 3 - Shared memory controller (shared with slot 4)

    Slot 4 - Shared memory controller (shared with slot 3)
     
  9. mostafiz28 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    #10
  10. ZZ Bottom macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    #11
    Thanks. Curious decision on their part to include 4 and 8 slots.
     
  11. crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #12
  12. crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #13
    The single core 5.1 MP can handle up to 48GB using 3 sticks of 16GB ea. Using slots 1-3. If you try to install any additional memory in slot 4 the machine won't boot. Using all 4 slots for memory will slow the memory buss regardless of the amount installed.
     

Share This Page