Ram for my iMac

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Sup3rknova, Feb 11, 2010.

  1. Sup3rknova macrumors regular

    Sup3rknova

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Location:
    Riverside, CA
    #1
    Hello all,
    I have a iMac (17-inch Late 2006) and i want to upgrade my ram. Everything works fine since the day i bought it. (Thanks Steve) I like to have fun with photoshop, imovie, final cut etc... I upgraded to snow leopard and it seems some of the programs run slightly slower. Should I upgrade my Ram and is this a good buy instead of buying two 1GB. http://www.buy.com/retail/product.asp?sku=206465835:apple:
     
  2. alent1234 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    #2
    www.crucial.com

    kingston is OK as well

    what i also do sometimes is use crucial to get the specs i need and buy at newegg
     
  3. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #3
    Your iMac can take up to 3GB of RAM (1 1GB and 1 2GB) although 2 2GB will work fine (you will only see 3GB total though). That price is OK for a 2GB stick but nothing spectacular. TO see if you need more RAM, look at Activity Monitor. If the pageins / pageouts is less than 10, you could probably use more RAM.
     
  4. Sup3rknova thread starter macrumors regular

    Sup3rknova

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Location:
    Riverside, CA
    #4
    I thought a 2GB would have boosted my speed alot. Dang more $. lol
     
  5. Sup3rknova thread starter macrumors regular

    Sup3rknova

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Location:
    Riverside, CA
  6. Sup3rknova thread starter macrumors regular

    Sup3rknova

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Location:
    Riverside, CA
    #6
    I will check my activity monitor.. thanks for the info.
    ::edit:: should i check it on a restart or shall i open up a few apps at once? will that make a difference?
     
  7. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #7
    Ideally after a full days use.

    I'll also add that you can mix and match RAM as much as you want (a 512MB stick with a 2GB stick, for example). The only downside is a slight loss in speed as some of the RAM won't work in dual-channel mode but its minor (less than 5%).
     
  8. Sup3rknova thread starter macrumors regular

    Sup3rknova

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Location:
    Riverside, CA
    #8
    ok so should i just buy the bundle from crucial.com i posted? All opinions are welcome...:)
     
  9. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #9
    I would just buy a single 2GB stick. Then you would have 2.5GB (assuming you currently have 2X512MB). If you feel you need even more RAM in the future, you could add another 1 GB stick to replace the 512MB one later to max out at 3GB.
     
  10. Sup3rknova thread starter macrumors regular

    Sup3rknova

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Location:
    Riverside, CA
    #10
    yea i have 2 x 512. I see what your saying. If i buy the bundle 1X 2GB, i could for the same price buy a 2Gb and have a 2 and 512. Ill have a little extra ram.. Cool thanks!
    Seems like kingston is a recommended brand when using the google.
     

Share This Page