Ram for my mac pro?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by stevieapollo, Jan 11, 2009.

  1. stevieapollo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Location:
    Whittier, CA
    #1
    I am looking to upgrade my ram from 2GB to 10GB so i need to purchase 8 GB of ram. does anyone know the best place to buy the ram I have heard of kingston but i am really looking for the best value manly because i am totally broke after spending 3000 buck for my machine? Do they even make crapy ram is it all pretty much the same i rally don't know much about ram aside from the fact that it made my iMac 2x faster after i upgraded to 4GB. any help would be awesome!

    thanks
     
  2. phrehdd macrumors 68040

    phrehdd

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    #2
    I don't know what to call the "best place" but I can tell you where I got my RAM and it works well for me.

    OWC (Other World Computing) http://eshop.macsales.com/

    Unsure if this is okay to say..but I would stay away from Fastmac. They don't stand well behind their products or the adage the customer is right.

    - Phrehdd
     
  3. numbersyx macrumors 65816

    numbersyx

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
  4. TSparger macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    #4
    I too am purchasing ram for a newly purchased Mac Pro and am wondering if it is a good idea to leave the existing ram in the computer and just add on to it or remove and add new ram in like pairs? I hope this is not stepping on the OP's thread, but figured it was related.
     
  5. akbc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #5
  6. pwn247 macrumors 6502

    pwn247

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Location:
    West Virginia, USA
    #6
    Leaving the old RAM in the computer is perfectly fine. My Mac Pro shipped with 2 x 512MB sticks, which I left in there when I bought 2 x 1GB sticks. So the Mac Pro is fine if you mix amounts and brands of RAM.

    But keep in mind, if you have the 1,1 Mac Pro you need to buy 667MHz sticks. Anything newer than that uses the 800MHz sticks. If you're not sure which one you have, you can go :apple: > About This Mac > More Info... and it'll be listed there. ;)
     
  7. dr. shdw macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    #7
    The 800mhz sticks are backwards compatible as well.
     
  8. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #8
    CanadaRam. He is also a member of macrumors. :D
     
  9. numbersyx macrumors 65816

    numbersyx

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    #9
    Many thanks.
     
  10. spacetycho macrumors member

    spacetycho

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    #10
    Ram

    if i pull the trigger and buy a mac pro next month, add 6GB of RAM, then sell it in a year to buy the NEW mac pro, will i be able to remove and install the RAM in the new computer?

    where can i find the best deal on mac pros and RAM?

    cheers.

    p.s. i'd hate to buy now with the NEW ones on the horizon, but i need to start working on an album ASAP.

    any advise is appreciated.

    :confused:
     
  11. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #11
    No. It will be completely incompatible.
     
  12. nemodomi macrumors member

    nemodomi

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
  13. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #13
    I second Canada Ram. I have ordered RAM through him 3 times. Every time he is very fast and its works well. His prices are the best I have found in canada too.
     
  14. jjahshik32 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    #14
    I cant believe no one has recommended www.transintl.com

    I ordered a few sets of 16GB of RAM works without any flaws or errors and the heat sinks are even better than the ones on the stock RAM from Apple (fins are even thicker).
     

Share This Page