RAM for P2?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by Sannekita, Apr 15, 2009.

1. Sannekita macrumors regular

Sannekita

Hey,
    I own a Macbook Pro from feb 2008 (the cheapest one)
    It came with 2 GB RAM.
    I'm about to edit a music video that'll be recorded on HD with P2 cards. I'll record with 720p.
    Should I get more RAM? Can I put more in the laptop than 4 GB?
    What RAM do you guys recommend?
    Thank you
    Sanne

2. tcgjeukens macrumors regular

tcgjeukens

Sannekita,

1. 4Gb is the maximum for your early 2008 MacBook Pro. This model comes with two slots. Each can be filled with max 2Gb each.
    2. For any HD editing try to max out on RAM.
    3. In case of P2, your files will be BIG in size, but have little compression. So editing is not so much CPU intensive as it is I/O throughput intensive.

Coen

3. Sannekita thread starter macrumors regular

Sannekita

Beste Coen,
    I'm not very good with the computer language... what is I/O ?
    Do you think it is usefull to upgrade my RAM?
    Do you know what brand/type will be best?

Groetjes uit België

4. Cromulent macrumors 603

Cromulent

I/O stands for Input / Output and is normally used in reference to your hard drives.

From HD editing you will need a lot of hard drive space. Look into a Firewire 800 drive that is at least 1TB. You may even want to go with an external drive enclosure with more than one drive in it.

I'm not sure on what the options are for the MacBook Pro but you should be able to get an eSATA Express Card and then an external drive enclosure with 2 or 3 drives in a RAID 0 array. That should help you out.

Then max out your RAM. I would buy your RAM from http://www.crucial.com/ if I were you.

5. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

LethalWolfe

Before you spend money on upgrades I'd work w/the footage first to see if your machine is being responsive enough for you. As a point of comparison, G4 laptops w/FW400 HDDs can work adequately w/DVCPro HD.

Lethal