RAM in iMac has to be same size?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Nobita, Jul 9, 2009.

  1. Nobita macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Location:
    La la land
    #1
    Hi everyone,

    I want to upgrade my friend's iMac RAM. Her model is Early 2006 (I think one of the first intel machines). She has 512MB DDR2 670Mhz RAM.

    I was wondering if:
    - I have to install equal size RAM on both slots
    - I can install ram of different speeds (since the old one is 670Mhz, and perhaps the new one is 800Mhz). Is that okay?

    If this helps, she's running on Tiger.
     
  2. eawmp1 macrumors 601

    eawmp1

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    FL
  3. arjen92 macrumors 65816

    arjen92

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Location:
    Below sea level
    #3
    It is advisable to have the same memory in each slot. When it's unequal, the RAM won't be used to it's full potential.

    I believe that it doesn't matter if it's faster, the motherboard will be the limit. When you buy 800 Mhz, the speed will be 670 Mhz.
     
  4. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #4
    Make sure the RAM you get is DDR2, anything else will not fit.
     
  5. Nobita thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Location:
    La la land
    #5
    I've seen those websites, and I know they are recommending equal ram sizes. However I had a computer with different ram size on their slots, so I was just wondering if this is the case for iMac as well.

    So if I buy 800Mhz, I will still only get 670Mhz? It's probably the FSB isn't it?

    I also don't understand what PC2-5300 is. I found someone selling something like PC-6700 on ebay, will this fit?

    Thanks for the help.
     
  6. Nobita thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Location:
    La la land
    #6
    We also have to make sure they're SODIMM, 200 pins, and PC2-5300, right?
     
  7. Nobita thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Location:
    La la land
    #7
  8. eawmp1 macrumors 601

    eawmp1

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    FL
    #8
    DON'T buy RAM on Ebay!!!! OWC or another reputable dealer with a good return policy (and perhaps a bit of a rebate on your original RAM).
     
  9. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #9
    Correct.
     
  10. skeeterbud macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Location:
    Texas
    #10
    Dual or single ram for early 2006 Imac ?

    Quick question folks about upgrading ram in an early 2006 Imac. I told an Ebay seller I wanted to max out the ram , they sold me a single 2G stick. As I run dual monitors for live stock charting, would I be better off with two 1G sticks of Ram? Or would there even be a noticeable difference? If a single stick will do, is there a preference as to top or bottom slot? Thanks in advance for any and all that can lend some advice.
     
  11. Nobita thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Location:
    La la land
    #11
    According to http://guides.macrumors.com/Matched_RAM_on_Intel_Macs here's the advice:

     
  12. skeeterbud macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Location:
    Texas
    #12
    OK, thanks, I guess I will just load up some charts tomorrow and see how it does. Maybe some more folks will have a few more answers on this with their experiences with an early 2006 Imac and the ram issue. Good luck, skeeterbud
     
  13. Nobita thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Location:
    La la land
    #13
    Btw I know that rams are dirt cheap these days, but in your opinion will it be generally cheaper in stores or in ebay and other online stores? I'm seeing cheap rams on ebay... (1gb stick for AU$25-30 = US$19-23)
     

Share This Page