RAM in next year's 12-inch rMBP

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by thejackson5, Mar 21, 2015.

  1. thejackson5 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2015
    #1
    Hey there,

    So, I'm somewhat a computer geek, but really know next-to-nothing about hardware. I currently have a 15" mid-2012 rMBP that's absolutely maxed-out—fastest processor, largest SSD, 16gb RAM.

    The spec there that I care about far more than the others is RAM. I often have hundreds of tabs open in several different windows. I'm organised, but this is simply just how my mind functions best. In any case, I need 16gb RAM.

    I have a 3-year accidental warranty due up in August of this year. Prior to it expiring, my current rMBP will likely mysteriously 'break'. I am presently deciding what to replace it with.

    My options are a new, maxed-out 15" rMBP (basically, the same thing I have now, except with three years-worth of cumulative slight performance bumps), or that new 12" rMB. And I soooooooooo want that new 12" rMB.

    Unfortunately, as you likely know, the max RAM on the brand-new 12" is 8gb. After a lot of thought, I've decided that I could live with 8gb of RAM, in exchange for the other new features/battery life/lightness, but if and only if the next year's performance bump (and the year after, and the year after) of the same 12" model will not have an optional 16gb. (Basically, I'm trying to avoid telling myself 'I told you so' in a year's time.)

    So here's my question: Is it a physical possibility, given the internal design of the brand-new 12" rMB, that 16gb could potentially be had? Like I said, I know very little about hardware, but that which I know about RAM is that, in the case of the rMP/rMBP, it's soldered in (so that it's non-replaceable/non-upgradeable), and that it occupies physical RAM slots. So, if I understand my own question correctly, I'm basically asking a) Is there another empty RAM slot so that next year Apple can stick in another 8gb and have 16gb RAM total, or if not, b) Can next year they simply just stick in a single 16gb RAM card instead of an 8gb (so, basically, do they even make single 16gb RAM cards)?

    Thanks much.
     
  2. AdonisSMU macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #2
    Are you asking if we should help you commit fraud?
     
  3. PDFierro macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    #3
    If you want the 16GB RAM, then you should be looking at the Pro line. I doubt even next year's model will have an option for 16GB. It has more to do with what Apple wants to do rather than what is actually physically possible. The rMB isn't for people who want 16GB RAM and/or 1TB SSD.
     
  4. Theophil1971 macrumors 6502

    Theophil1971

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2015
    Location:
    USA
    #4
    I agree with this.
     
  5. Mcdevidr macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    #5
    Seems like money is of no concern. Get both and call it a day.
     
  6. thejackson5 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2015
    #6
    Understood and agreed. I'm more hoping for a technical explanation detailing whether it is, in fact, possible. If there's even the remote possibility of next year's 12-inch rMB having 16gb RAM, I'll just go with the maxed-out rMBP.
     
  7. Soordhin macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Berlin, Germany
    #7
    There is no technological barrier that we do know about right now, even less so on next years version. There might come something to light after the first teardown by ifixit or others.

    RAM might change in the future, depending on needs by the targeted audience. Take the MBA 11 for example, only since 2012 does it support 8GB, before that the standard was 2 GB with optional 4 GB of RAM.
     
  8. sonicrobby macrumors 68020

    sonicrobby

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2013
    Location:
    New Orleans
    #8
    Id just like to correct something, soldered on means that there are no slots. Its actually built into the motherboard/logicboard. So RAM cannot be changed or added to these.

    If the nMBP offered 16GB RAM, id get it regardless of its shortcomings! But the air hasn't ever had 16GB of RAM yet, it would be hard to determine if apple will or will no do 16GB in the next revision of the nMBP
     
  9. thejackson5, Mar 21, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 25, 2015

    thejackson5 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2015
    #9
    Ah, interesting! I guess I used 'soldered on' without actually realising what it meant.

    So, in theory, because it's built-in to the logicboard, could Apple, if they wanted to, put, say, 64gb in next year's 12"? (I understand this ain't exactly the most likely scenario in the world :p )
     
  10. Atimix macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2015
    #10
    I don't care how many internet tabs you have open you don't need 16GB of RAM, have you ever looked at how much RAM you're actually using? I am willing to bet its not past 6, unless you're playing skyrim while streaming 12 HD youtube videos. People falling trap to hardware specs 2015, classic. The rMB will suit your needs better than you even realize.
     
  11. PDFierro, Mar 22, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 25, 2015

    PDFierro macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    #11
    Yes. But considering we all know they won't even put in 16GB...
     
  12. lchlch, Mar 22, 2015
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2015

    lchlch macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2015
    #12
    If it can fit 8gb in dual channel mode, it will fit 16gb.

    The only reason apple does not 16gb for the macbook is that the core m only supports up to 8gb.
     
  13. tillsbury macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    #13
    No, he seems to have that covered already...
     
  14. Nee412 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Location:
    Sunny England!
    #14
    I know the answer to this, but you're suggesting committing fraud so I'm not going to post it.

    Should be obvious though.

    If you seriously have 'hundreds' of tabs open in 'several different windows' then you're creating your own RAM problems anyway.
     
  15. newellj macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2014
    Location:
    Boston, MA, US
    #15
    I'm not sure which I think is more unlikely: Apple putting 16 GB of RAM in this machine (assuming the CPU would support it at some future point) or actually being able to use hundreds of open tabs on a 12" screen? :rolleyes:
     
  16. tx26257 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    #16
    I personally laughed out loud when he slipped in that he plans to commit fraud.
    Thank you for being part of the problem in the pricing of this extended warranty.
     
  17. newellj macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2014
    Location:
    Boston, MA, US
    #17
    I wish I could say that this surprised me. :rolleyes: :mad:
     
  18. Serban Suspended

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    #18
    the next macbook in 2016 will start with 256 ssd, 8 gb ram(no other options like now), skylake M with a 20% better iGPU like HD6300, one more 1H battery life so 10h, i hope 1 more port for usb-c at the other side and put the 3.5mm jack a bit lower, he can be placed. 720p camera and a price cut by 100$
     
  19. newellj macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2014
    Location:
    Boston, MA, US
    #19
    You might be right. The Skylake upgrade alone could be very significant, even if Apple stays with one USB-C port. That is one of the risks of buying the 2015 rMB.
     
  20. Serban Suspended

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    #20
    if the reviews are good and the macbook has no hardware problems i think i will buy, if not i will wait for the 2016 version
     
  21. iRun26.2 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    #21
    I'm hoping to buy both (and get a good price for my used 2015 model).
     
  22. newellj macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2014
    Location:
    Boston, MA, US
    #22
    That is the $64 question, except that it's likely to be more than $64! ;)
     
  23. sonicrobby macrumors 68020

    sonicrobby

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2013
    Location:
    New Orleans
    #23
    Theoretically, if the power consumption is low. The only issue is Apple may think that the general users buying the new MacBooks and the airs may not actually be needing the 16GB or higher of RAM. So they may be worried they wouldn't see many sales of those models, or it would take away from sales in the rMBP line. By excluding a higher RAM option on the lower end MacBooks, it lures users who do use high ram to the macbook pro line.
     
  24. thejackson5 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2015
    #24
    Interesting! I'd been thinking too much into the technical side of things, and not enough the business. What you're describing is precisely the dilemma I'm facing. And smart move on Apple's part, too; if I'm to opt for the Pro, that's an extra 1000€+ right in their coffers, even more given the likelihood I'll just go and max it out on specs, too. Darn, for a company I love, I sure do hate them :p
     
  25. Samuelsan2001 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    #25
    DDR4 next year

    I'd bet on DDR4 RAM when skylake goes in.
     

Share This Page