RAM inquiry -- new iMAC

Discussion in 'iMac' started by jazyje, Aug 5, 2008.

  1. jazyje macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    #1
    Hello,
    A long time Mac user... Just upgraded my old iMac G5 to the new iMac 20"... Wondering if any of these RAM upgrades would work on the machine -- I am looking to upgrade the factory installed 1GB of RAM to 4GB --this one looks good price-wise:

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?nm_mc=AFC-SlickDeals&cm_mmc=AFC-SlickDeals-_-NA-_-NA-_-NA&Item=N82E16820227269

    or:

    http://www.crucial.com/store/mpartspecs.aspx?mtbpoid=B6489527A5CA7304


    If not, can anyone help me in choosing a 2 X 2GB RAM kit that would work on the newest iMAC (20"). THANK YOU!
     
  2. DesignerOnMac macrumors 6502a

    DesignerOnMac

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    #2
    First look in your iMac manual for the RAM you should buy!

    Second, go to OWC and look up your RAM there! I have bought RAM from them for years with NO issues! Lifetime replacement also.

    (You do not need to buy a matched pair of RAM either!)

    Crucial seems to have varying prices depending on when you go to their website.

    Thirdly, checkout Data Memory in NH also, good products, but not necessarily the cheapest, but RAM is cheap now anyway!
     
  3. scotty96LSC macrumors 65816

    scotty96LSC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #3
    All of us at work deal with Crucial. No problems.
     
  4. jazyje thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    #4
    Well, I was wondering if specifically the first RAM sticks I posted the link to would work -- since there is a rebate with them making the 4GB RAM only $55...
     
  5. gocardsfan1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    #5
    No, they won't work in the iMac because they are desktop memory sticks. Even though the iMac is a desktop, it uses laptop memory. Check out this link, according to many customer reviews it works great with the iMac, and after rebate it is only $57.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820227251
     
  6. jazyje thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
  7. gocardsfan1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    #7
    If you are talking about this ram:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820227251

    I have not used it myself, but if you look into the customer reviews you will see several people, such as "macmac" and "Karl", who say that it works great with the newest imac. And if it doesn't work, newegg has great returns policies and will probably allow you to return them for a full refund. Plus it's hard to pass up at $57.
    I plan on buying that ram when I get my first mac.:D
     
  8. Meave macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    #8
    Bought this ram last week, came in 2 days with free shipping. My new iMac arrived yesterday and first thing I did was install the ram which took a total of 3 min. It reconized the ram right away and has been working flawlessly.
     
  9. jazyje thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    #9
    How did you get free shipping? It shows $7 shipping....
     
  10. jazyje thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    #10

    Well, ordered the 2 * 2GB kit, tried installing today + only one stick would work -- namely, the 2GB would work with the original factory 1GB of RAM (making it 3GB total RAM), but the 2 2GB sticks TOGETHER would not work at all -- the iMac would not boot... Any ideas why? Please help.
     
  11. jazyje thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    #11
    Did you order the 2 * 2GB kit? Or just 1 2GB stick? Is your memory 4GB total now?
     
  12. Meave macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    #12
    I got 2 2GB sticks for a total of 4GB.
     
  13. gocardsfan1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    #13
    I have no idea what the problem could be. I would suggest returning them to Newegg and getting new sticks. Maybe the memory that you got is defected.:confused:
     
  14. jazyje thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    #14
    Yeah, I could really use some help with figuring out what is going on -- now I'm stuck with 3GB RAM ... I guess I'll return the RAM and ask for a replacement...
     
  15. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #15
    Try different combinations to see if one stick is defective.
     
  16. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #16
    Probably, you will find that each OCZ module runs OK with the Apple module, but they fail as a 4 GB kit or installed singly. We have seen this before with these modules.

    Return both modules for refund, I am guessing they do not have the proper SPD timing programming and the Mac is not recognizing them.. When the 1 GB Apple RAM is installed, the Mac takes the timing information from the Apple RAM, so the 2 GB OCZ follows along.

    Neither OCZ nor NewEgg guarantee the OCZ RAM for Mac compatibility.
    Hopefully you don't lose too much on shipping and.or restocking costs.
     
  17. jazyje thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    #17
    Is there a way to change the settings on these modules to make them BOTH work on an iMac?
     

Share This Page