Ram is stuck. How can I pull it out?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by ChitoCrisis, Oct 30, 2013.

  1. ChitoCrisis, Oct 30, 2013
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2014
  2. dextr3k macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    #2
    Do you have pliers?

    How did you jam them in that hard....
     
  3. ChitoCrisis thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Location:
    California
    #3
    I thought I put them in wrong and they felt a bit loose so I pressed hard on them.

    I'm going to try not to break them with pliers or something.
     
  4. ChitoCrisis thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Location:
    California
  5. aznboi91 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    #5
    Take it to the apple store and tell them that they put too much ram in for you and ask them to remove it. :)
     
  6. Chippy99 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012
    #6
    Wear some household rubber gloves - you will get much more grip and will likely be able to remove the ram yourself.
     
  7. drambuie macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    #7
    The DIMM modules have locking tab notches on both edges. When you inserted the modules, did you hear the locking clicks? If the locking tabs impede removal, you will have to open them manually. The easiest way is to do one at a time. It should not require a lot of force to remove or insert DIMMs.
     
  8. Johnf1285 macrumors 6502a

    Johnf1285

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #8
    If I recall, pushing those two white knobs outward should help pop the sticks out. Have you tried that?

    Edit - pushing those white knobs releases the ram "tray" not the sticks. Nevermind!
     
  9. richard13 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Mill Creek, WA
    #9
    Did you put in all 4 sticks or did you add 2 sticks to the 2 that were already there? Not sure from your original post.

    It's hard to tell from the photo but it appears they are all in alignment. So they are likely all wrong or all right.

    DIMMS have a notch on the bottom which acts as a key to prevent you from putting them in backward. Did you note this when you were installing your RAM? Technically it shouldn't be possible for you to put the DIMMs in backward because if the notch doesn't line up with a tab in the socket it won't go in. That said, I recall seeing at least one thread where the user forced the DIMM in and broke the tab. I can't imagine how hard you'd have to press to make that happen.

    If it were me (and I'm not saying you are me) and I couldn't get the DIMMs out to reseat them I would try using needle nose pliers to pull them out. I would also use something like tissue or a cloth to protect the DIMMs from the plier jaws.

    You could just bring your iMac to the Apple Store and let them take a crack at it. I can't say if they would cover something like this under warranty but it might be the safest way to handle the situation.

    Good luck.
     
  10. ChitoCrisis, Nov 2, 2013
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2014

    ChitoCrisis thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Location:
    California
  11. B1ueB1aze macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    #11
    You're going to need some type of tool to grip them with. Something that's rubber preferably. And as the others have said make sure the locking clips are disengaged. Also make sure not to ESD shock any component.
     
  12. chabig, Nov 3, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2013

    chabig macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    #12
    Correctly installed RAM should come out just as easily as it went in. I think you're going to have to use whatever force is necessary to pull them out and hope the sockets are not damages, even if the sticks are ruined.
     
  13. iMacC2D, Nov 6, 2013
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2017
  14. fotofan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Location:
    New Jersey USA
    #14
    This is not a new problem

    I and others have had problems with Crucial RAM on the new late 2013 iMacs. I was warned on another thread and knew better than to push hard. So when it didn't fit I returned and bought RAM from OWC, which fit perfectly.
    Both I and the OP of that thread were ridiculed by a number of posters on this forum even after posting a picture of the RAM. Find the thread under my profile if you'd like, but it won't help you now.
    My suggestion is to let an Apple Genius take it out and then return it and buy the RAM from OWC. They are selling Hynix RAM, which is the RAM Apple is installing in the new iMacs now. Good luck.
     

Share This Page