RAM Memory in Boot Camp

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by raquiros, Jun 29, 2008.

  1. raquiros macrumors member

    raquiros

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    #1
    I recently upgraded my MacBook Pro from 2GB to 3GB, it works pretty well... but when I boot on Windows XP using Boot Camp it just recognizes 3GB from the memory... when I had two it recognized two... is that something I should configure? :confused:

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. MPHL macrumors regular

    MPHL

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    #2
    What would you want or need to re-configure. When your simply using bootcamp it is a good thing that its it recognizing the 3BG. You only really have to get into the configuration when your using Parallels and then you can manually set how many GB you want using for each operating system.
     
  3. costabunny macrumors 68020

    costabunny

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Location:
    Weymouth, UK
    #3
    I think you meant to say you upgraded to 4GB..... that aside Windows XP is a 32bit OS and thus only capapble of handling 4GB Max address space. Devices (such as network cards, video cards etc) all have address space in that allowance and thus XP will usually see between 2.5 and 3.5GB max on a 4Gb system.

    Mac OS is a 64bit OS and as such can address 2TB memory space (I think if my memory isn't letting me down) and thats why Mac OS see's it all.

    (for example my most annoying system had 4GB and Windows XP only saw 2.25GB (due mostly to two 8800GTX's each having 768MB ram)

    live with it (or get vista 64bit on your bootcamp) :)
     
  4. greenythebeast macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    #4
    Would XP Professional x64 Edition work as well?
     
  5. MojoWill macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    #5
    i have upgraded mine to 4gb and xp only recognises 3GB have searched for ages to find a resolution but none seem sto be out ther!
     
  6. Sirus2400 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    #6
    You would need a 64bit version of XP or Vista for it to see all of your RAM. Also, saying RAM Memory is redundant.
     
  7. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #7
    Yes XP x64 would see all 4GB, but XP x64 is a POS. Get Vista x64
     
  8. raquiros thread starter macrumors member

    raquiros

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    #8
    Im sorry... I will correct my post as I upgraded my memory to 4GB and not 3GB.... the XP only recognizes 3GB.... I understand that the system uses certain amount of memory, but the thing is that when I had 2GB of RAM the XP recognized 1.98GB as on regular PCs....
     
  9. durant0s macrumors regular

    durant0s

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #9
    XP x64 is the best gaming OS out there.
     
  10. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #10
    Yeah, 32-bit Windows can't see more than 3.3GB of RAM. 64-bit can see as much as you can put in.
     
  11. raquiros thread starter macrumors member

    raquiros

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    #11
    But my games must be on 64 bits right? Otherwise they will be 32-bits
     
  12. The Flashing Fi macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    #12
    XP x64 is the worst OS of any consumer based modern OS. Vista 64-bit is a much better option. XP 64-bit was never supported as much as Windows XP (32 bit version). Vista 64-bit is as supported as Vista 32-bit.

    So. You're talking about a computer different from your Macbook Pro? Like a Dell/HP/ect? That sounds like only 1.98GB is recognized because it probably had integrated graphics, which will take memory away from your system memory and assign it as video memory. It was probably taking away 64MB (2048MB=2 GB of RAM, subtract this from 64MB and you get 1984MB~1.98GB).
     
  13. durant0s macrumors regular

    durant0s

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #13
    I was talking solely about gaming. I run TF2 on XP x64 on a moderately slower but similarly built p.c.(i.e. I built both of ours the same way but mine is older and his has newer parts.) to my friends who runs it on Vista 64bit and I still avg. 20-50 fps more then him. XP is way better then Vista for gaming, I understand it is hard to find things supported on XP x64 but you can easily get around that in most cases(i.e. installing iTunes). Plus nowadays most things are supported on XP x64. So to say its the worst consumer based modern OS is not only unrealistic its also just plain wrong. Have you ever heard of Windows ME? Come on don't get me started.
     

Share This Page