RAM memory problem

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by jotamurray, Oct 25, 2007.

  1. jotamurray macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    #1
    I have a PB 1,5ghz with 1gb Ram... recently I noticed my PB was going significantly slower. On About this mac/more information I found it only recongnized 512mb... i have unistalled both rams, installed them, change position and tried each one separately in case one of the memories was faulty and the only conclusion is that separtely they work perfectly but when I install both it shows that the LOWER slot is empty. Does anyone have an idea of what could the problem be?? Thanks a lot.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Makosuke macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Location:
    The Cool Part of CA, USA
    #2
    I don't know if this is what's happening to you, but I once had a situation where a pair of RAM sticks (in an Intel Mac Mini) would work fine individually, but would cause periodic restarts when both were used together. Never did figure out what exactly was going on, but they were replaced under warranty.

    In your system, was that RAM recognized originally, and now isn't? (I'm also assuming that the Mac will boot fine with one stick installed in the lower slot, it just doesn't work when there are two sticks installed.)

    I have to think that it's just a really weird glitch with one of the two sticks that's preventing the other from working. Could also be a problem with the computer, I suppose, but the only way to test is to find another stick of RAM and test. Actually, the only way to test which of the two is bad is with another stick anyway, since each works individually.
     
  3. blodwyn macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    #3
    Could it be that you have this problem?
     
  4. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #4
    You almost certainly have the lower socket failure mentioned in the post above. Contact Apple, the only fix apparently is a new logic board.
     
  5. jotamurray thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    #5
    I didn't know there was a memory slot issue--- but yes you are right my serial number is in the range of the affected PBs (Dont know what the manufacturers were doing in that period cause I've also had to replace a faulty battery!) THX i will contact my local apple store.
     

Share This Page