RAM Modules for new Mac Mini?

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by Scuall, Jun 18, 2010.

  1. Scuall macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Location:
    All over the USA
    #1
  2. flatfoot macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    #2
    In principle, the RAM you found is correct; you need PC3-8500 DDR3 1066MHz SO-DIMMs; I found CL7 and CL8 and would go for CL7.

    But in your link... is that the price for one module?! :eek: You can get an 8GB kit (2x 4GB) for about the same amount of money.
     
  3. costabunny macrumors 68020

    costabunny

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Location:
    Weymouth, UK
    #3
  4. imacdaddy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    #4
    anyone know if the old/new mini server will be able to lower the DDR3 SDRAM frequency from 1333MHz to 1066MHz if I just pop it in? I've have access to DRR3 1333MHz SDRAM.
     
  5. flatfoot macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    #5
    Automatic downclocking shouldn't be a problem. However, you need SODIMMs, SDRAM won't work.
     
  6. Kebabselector macrumors 68030

    Kebabselector

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    #6
    Interesting, it looks like it's the same memory as in the early 2009 Mini. Is this correct? If so I can save myself a bit of cash by taking the 4gb out of my current mini and using it in the new one.

    /edit Just checked my old crucial order, it was for: 2 - 2GB 204-PIN SODIMM 256MX64 DDR3 PC3-8500 CL7 Which is identical to the description for the new mini's memory on crucial. Thinks I maybe purchasing tomorrow!
     
  7. flatfoot macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    #7
    Yepp, still the same RAM.
     
  8. imacdaddy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    #8
    Sorry, I meant SODIMM. I've got 2 x 4GB Kingston KVR1333D3S9/4G

    (4GB PC3 - 10600 CL9 204 - Pin SODUMM)

    I guess they don't work since when I powered on, the mini server beeps every 3 seconds with no image on the screen. Bummer! I got a good deal in HK. :(
     
  9. flatfoot macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    #9
    LOL – "so dumm" is German for "so dumb". :D

    EDIT: I guess your mini tries to run those CL9s at CL7... :eek:
     
  10. imacdaddy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    #10
    LOL :D It's been a long day/week!

    So I guess CL9's don't work. Does CL7 and CL8 work?
     
  11. Jawnathin macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    #12
    Pretty sure all of the newer Macs (besides the Mac Pro) uses the same type of memory.

    Mac Mini
    Macbook
    Macbook Pro
    iMacs

    I bought a 6GB kit for my Late 2008 MBP (limited to 6GB :(), and then I'll take the 4GB out of the MBP and put it into the Mini. Voila! Two upgrades.
     
  12. Scuall thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Location:
    All over the USA
  13. mrfoof82 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Location:
    Lawton, OK
    #14
    That's two 2GB modules. That means you'd have 4GB total, not 8GB total. That's only a $1 savings over the Apple BTO option of 4GB. If shipping isn't free, you're better off just custom ordering the extra memory from Apple. Even then, spend the extra $1 to save yourself the time.

    4GB DIMMs tend to carry a massive premium on a density-basis over 2GB DIMMs right now. (i.e. 2GB modules are $25-30/GB, 4GB modules are $45-55/GB except for that NuRam some people are pointing out).
     
  14. gilesybaby macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    #16
    In the mac mini's performance bracket would there really be much benefit from going from 4 to 8 gb??

    ^^genuine question^^
     
  15. Jawnathin macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    #17
    I guess it depends on your usage. As a server, maybe, but for a HTPC, I don't think theres a benefit past 4GB. That said, more ram doesn't hurt, but I'm not sure if its worth the price premium at this time (Its nearly 1/3rd the price of the unit @ $250~). The value isn't there right now.

    I have 4GB in MBP, and I use it for Photoshop and basic video editing and it seems to work just fine. For my needs (HTPC), 4GB will be plenty.
     
  16. mrfoof82 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Location:
    Lawton, OK
    #18
    I only am doing it because the machine also has to serve as a Windows and Windows Server development platform. The reality is I need to run one or two simultaneous Windows VMs (usually one that's Windows 7, and one that's Windows 2008 R2) with VMWare while still using OS X as the host OS, so for me the 8GB of memory is warranted. 4GB is plenty for most folks.

    Honestly, if Apple would put a GPU that's newer than 25 months old in an iMac, I'd be getting an i7 iMac and upgrade it to 12GB or 16GB of memory the day it arrived without hesitation, and consider building an iSCSI-based storage solution to house the VMs and their storage. I just refuse to spend $2800 + memory on an iMac when they still have that old GPU in it. For me, the Mini is a stopgap solution that will be sold when I finally get the iMac.
     

Share This Page