RAM on Windows 7 Ultimate?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by marugby123, Jun 25, 2010.

  1. marugby123 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    #1
    Hello All,
    I purchased a Macbook Pro about 2 weeks ago. Below are the specs:

    Core i7 2.66ghz (turboboost up to 3.33ghz)
    4gb of DDR3 1066mhz
    500gb 5400rpm HDD
    15" Screen
    Intel Chipset/Nvidia 330m 512mb

    I installed windows 7 and it runs great, but when i go into the properties of the computer (by right clicking the Computer), it shows that there are 4gb of ram, but only 2.18gb usable.

    I'm not really sure why it's showing this. It's not a problem, more of just a curiousity factor. Could it be that the other ram is going to both the intel chipset and the nvidia card?

    Thanks,
    Marugby123
     
  2. elpmas macrumors 68000

    elpmas

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Location:
    Where the fresh snow don't go.
    #2
    o_O
    That's weird...saying only half of your memory is usable...have you checked mroogle to see if any others are having the same issue? Just wondering, are you running parallels, VMware, or bootcamp?
     
  3. marugby123 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    #3
    I have checked everywhere else. haven't really seen the same thing.

    And i'm running windows 7 ultimate in bootcamp.

    Thanks,
    Marugby123
     
  4. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #4
    You didn't mention a key piece of information 32 or 64 bit?

    32 bit will generally only be able to access something less than 4 GB, though usually closer to 3 GB than what you report due to having to reserve address space to talk to other hardware, etc...

    B
     
  5. marugby123 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
  6. darakok macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    #6
    mine has the exact same problem

    i've got exactly the same problem. only 2.18BG out of 4Gb is usable. i checked the "resource Monitor" in windows 7 task manager, i see that 18xxMb is being reserved for hardware. that's why only 2.18Gb left for the OS.

    my MBP is the lastest one, 15inch, core i5, 32bit windows 7 Ultimate.


    Anyone here has solution please?

    dara kok
     
  7. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #7
    You can check which devices are reserving the RAM with the information in the post here: http://superuser.com/questions/5615...address space within the 4GB for hardware. B
     
  8. ryannazaretian macrumors 6502a

    ryannazaretian

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Location:
    Mississippi
    #8
    A few things to check...

    Go to start and type "msconfig" without the quotes.
    Go to the BOOT.INI tab.
    Press Advanced Options...

    Make sure the "Maximum Memory" option is UNCHECKED.

    If it is unchecked, then I would probably venture to say that your chipset drivers are not installed (properly).

    From what I've read, it's an Intel HM55 chipset.

    Try to get the drivers from Intel's website. Hopefully the link works.

    Also, it would be a good idea to update your graphics driver as well from nvidia.com.
     
  9. marugby123 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    #9
    It's actually (in windows 7) msconfig->boot tab-> advanced options->maximum memory (which is unchecked for me). I am finding that 858mb of ram is shared to the video card (by going to the desktop, right click, screen resolution, advanced settings). So that eliminated basically 1gb. So wheres the other gig going???

    ryannazaretian, you do NOT want to go to the nvidia/intel website to update the drivers. IF you are going to update the drivers at all, you're better off going through Device Manager (by right clicking my computer, going to manage, then to the device manager tab).
    Marugby123
     
  10. feeth macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    #10
    I have a 13.3" MBP w 2.4 and 4gb of ram.

    Bootcamp w ultimate.

    I'm showing 3.74gb of usable.

    Hope you get yours figured out soon.
     

Share This Page