RAM or flash drive

Discussion in 'iMac' started by inthepines, Feb 8, 2014.

1. inthepines macrumors newbie

Hi,

My name is Sara and after running an crappy old PC for the last six years I am finally investing in an iMac. It's my first time into Mac territory except for my iPhone which I can't live without. I'm looking forward to learning how to use the new machine however at this stage I am stuck deciding on what custom specs to get... as I am going for the iMac 21.5" (2.7GHz Quad-core Intel Core i5, Turbo Boost up to 3.2GHz) I understand I pretty much have to decide what I need for the next 3 to 5 years.

Also I have considered getting a Mac mini but I would like the whole set up and feel I deserve it after working on such a slow computer for so long :).

Anyway I would appreciate your feedback on whether I should invest in either a 16GB RAM or a 256GB Flash Storage. (I've decided against the Fusion drive as I only currently have about 50GB of data on my computer anyway - is that sensible?)

In terms of usage patterns I will be using it for work from home (about 10 hours/week) and for study (about 10 hours a week). For work I use large excel files (~5000KB) and at the same time have Safari open, Skype and iTunes. For study I will be using Adobe, Safari and Word. (In general I tend to have many things running at once which my current computer can't cope with very well.)

The extra RAM would obviously be useful however a flash drive would be handy too. For budget reasons I don't really want to get both (I'm going to have to fork out for Office for Mac too) - although at a stretch I could probably justify it as I would be using it so much for work and study.

Any advise would be appreciated and explanations even more so - I'm pretty green when it comes to computers but I'm interested.

Thanks for taking the time to read :)

2. Zenton macrumors member