Ram or proccesor?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by FrenzyBanana, Aug 24, 2012.

  1. FrenzyBanana, Aug 24, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2012

    FrenzyBanana macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    #1
    Is there a noticeable difference between 1.8 i5 and 2.0 17?

    Can i run final cut pro smoothly?
    What is more important? proccesor or ram?
    Can i upgrade the ram later like in mbp?
    My sister will use the mba on word proccessing, safari, networking, itunes, iphoto, and a 5 minutes videos in final cut pro once in two months. Do you think mba is ok?
    Or should i go to 13 " pro?


    Suggestions please
     
  2. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #2
    Nothing in this indicates you need any more than the entry-level MBA.
     
  3. Bauer24 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #3
    Agreed. 13" i5 2012 would be fine. You'd have to decide if the RAM upgrade would be worth the $90 (I'd say yes).
     
  4. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #4
    RAM can only be upgraded when purchasing, as the RAM is soldered onto the logic board. As for what is better, I would go with more RAM and use the i5 for your stated needs.
    Mac Benchmarks by Geekbench
     
  5. ChristianJapan macrumors 601

    ChristianJapan

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Location:
    日本
    #5
    Less RAM would limit your more compared to slightly slower CPU. So better spend money for RAM; cause less memory swapping and will be finally faster (or snappier in case of Safari :rolleyes:)
     
  6. FrenzyBanana thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    #6
    Hi all,

    Thanks for reply.
    My sister plays sims3 aswell? Can she run it on MBA smoothly?
     
  7. notkodysmith macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012
    #7
    Mba

    But Ram is a much simpler and cheaper upgrade. the cpu you cant generally upgrade yourself. you would just have to be comfortable with breaking the sodering, because of it being a MBA
     
  8. ChristianJapan macrumors 601

    ChristianJapan

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Location:
    日本
    #8
    Not in the MBA; both RAM and CPU are fixed; only SSD can be replaced
     
  9. Mike in Kansas, Aug 24, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2012

    Mike in Kansas macrumors 6502a

    Mike in Kansas

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Location:
    Metro Kansas City
    #9
    Here's a good review that compares the two processors with various benchmarks.

    http://www.anandtech.com/show/6063/macbook-air-13inch-mid-2012-review

    If you had to choose between RAM or processor, I'd go with RAM. Not only does the RAM affect your storage, but your available vRAM as well. The 4GB model make available 384MB of vRAM for the Intel HD4000, while the 8GB model makes available 512GB or vRAM. The vRAM should help with your little bit of work in FCP. It FLIES in iPhoto due to the SSD. Getting a standard HDD in a MBP would be a step down in performance in my opinion.

    You really can't upgrade the RAM. It's a series of chips soldered onto the board.

    You ARE joking, right?
     
  10. notkodysmith macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012
    #10
    i thought that the ram was just sodered in place on the mba. my bad.
     

Share This Page