Ram or SSD

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by vmachiel, Mar 26, 2011.

  1. vmachiel macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Location:
    Holland
    #1
    Ok I have an 2010 i5 3m L3 cache, 4gb 1067 Mhz DDR3 RAM and 320 GB Storage MBP.

    I want to upgrade it, what will give me an overall "less slowing down" machine: Upgrading to 8Gb of Ram, or an SSD. I need somewhere between 200-250 gb storage. Also, if RAM is the way to go, where should I buy it? I found the guide not very helpful, so if you bought some, where?
    I live in Holland if that matters.

    Thanks for the help!
     
  2. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    If you want a 'zippy' machine then the SSD is the way to go. At the capacity your looking at it will cost a bit.

    Would you make use of the extra RAM? What do you do on your MBP?
     
  3. mulo macrumors 68020

    mulo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    Behind you
    #3
    SSD is the way to go. if you have a SSD should you run out of ram and start swapping the drive is so fast you wont notice :)
     
  4. vmachiel thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Location:
    Holland
    #4
    Mostly for surfing the web, studying (office 2011), I use the ilife apps ('11), SPSS statistics, Stata 11 and Matlab (sometimes)

    Only game I have on it is minecraft:p

    Will those apps need the RAM upgrade?
     
  5. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    Your current RAM capacity should be fine. Go with the SSD.
     
  6. mulo macrumors 68020

    mulo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    Behind you
    #6
    without taking it to the extremes, no
     
  7. vmachiel thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Location:
    Holland
    #7
    Ok thanks everyone, i'll look into the ssd upgrade:)
     
  8. adnoh macrumors 6502a

    adnoh

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
  9. maerz001 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    #9
    have a look in the activity monitor. What does the system memory tab tells you about free and inactive MBs while running your apps? when you don't have much page outs and swap, you should be fine with your current configuration.
     

Share This Page