RAM Question for PB G4 1 ghz

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by bear1973, Jul 29, 2008.

  1. bear1973 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2006
    #1
    Hi,

    I have a PB G4 Al 1Ghz with 768 MB of RAM. I think it's got 1 512 and 1 256 MB chip in it. Anyway, does anyone know what the maximum amount of memory for this machine is, if it's pc2100 or pc2700? If I can get it up to 1.5 GB of RAM, it might be worth it. If not, I'll probably put it on Craigslist for $300, buy a new MB with the Ed discount, get and sell the iPod touch, and be in a new MB for around 500-600.

    Thanks,
    Bear
     
  2. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #2
    If it is a 15" or 17" then it is PC2100 with a 1.5 GB Max (officially).
    If it is 12" then it is PC2100 with 1.0 GB Max (officially).

    TEG
     
  3. bear1973 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2006
    #3
    Configuration?

    Right now I have a 256 and 512, but if I remember correctly there are only two slots. How do I get to 1.5 MB?
     
  4. eidrunner247 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Location:
    Arizona
    #4
    Unless I am missing something, the answer seems a little obvious. 1 GB + 512 MB. I think the two chips might be interchangeable, but someone with a 12" powerbook might be able to correct me. But those are the two chips you would use.
     
  5. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #5
    Check out EveryMac.com, it can answer all the questions.

    The 12" was PC2100, the 15" and 17" were PC2700.

    The 12" has a Max of 1.25GB, as 256MB are soldered on the board. The 15" and 17" max out at 1GB officially, but can support 2GB.

    TEG
     
  6. iShater macrumors 604

    iShater

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #6
    12" max of 1.25 as stated above, System Profiler reports PC2700 for the RAM though.
     
  7. bear1973 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2006
    #7
    15 Pb G4

    Mine is a 15", so the way I'd get to 2 gigs is to buy to 1 gig chips I suppose, and replace the 256 and 512. Fair enough, or?
     
  8. California macrumors 68040

    California

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    #8
    Don't bother with the PC2100 speed of the ram chips, they are hard to find.

    Ram is "backwards compatible". PC2700 and I think the next speed is PC3200 or 4200, will also fit on your powerbook

    Yes you need two 1 gig sticks to max it out. If I wanted to keep a Powerbook like that, I'd get a bigger faster speed hard drive and better optical drive while I was at it.

    Otherwise, your macbook/ed price/selling on CList sounds good.

    PS In other words it takes 2 gbs of ram max.
     
  9. juise macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    #9
    My wife has the 12" 1GHz G4 PowerBook and I have been looking at upgrading the RAM. It's pretty clear to me that I need a PC2100 DDR 266MHz stick. (Well, I see that some are suggesting a PC2700 stick, but I'd like to stick with PC2100.)

    Anyway, I am confused about something. I found a couple nice prices on 1GB sticks at newegg.com, a Transcend one and a Kingston one. There are even some reviewers saying that they have worked with their iBooks. One reviewer said that it did not work with his Powerbook G4. I was feeling OK about it until I googled "1gb kingston powerbook pc2100" and came up with different Kingston model numbers that cost 3X with seemingly the exact same specifications, like this one. I found similar results when searching for Transcend. It seems like the ones that specifically say "for Apple" or for "PowerBook G4" have different model numbers and cost way more. Can anyone tell me what the deal is?

    Thanks in advance for your time and consideration.
     
  10. juise macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    #10
    There aren't any PowerBook experts around here?
     
  11. abcslayer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    #11
    If I remember correctly, the DDR-era Northbridge has some special skewing signal that not every RAM module support.

    I suggest you could try 1GB CAS 2.5 333MHz (PC-2700) module and use memtest (Rember) to test...:D
     

Share This Page