Ram Question Macbook

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by lulla01, Jul 13, 2007.

  1. lulla01 macrumors 68020

    lulla01

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Location:
    U.S
    #1
    I have a white macbook 2ghz core 2 duo currently sporting 1 gb memory 2x 512 what is the max ram is can hold i hear 2 gb but then people say something about 3.3? what should i do i need an upgrade
     
  2. Jaffa Cake macrumors Core

    Jaffa Cake

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    The City of Culture, Englandshire
    #2
    Officially (ie, according to Apple), the maximum amount of RAM a MacBook can hold is 2GB – however, some folk have been putting 3 or 4GB in without any apparent difficulties. The only issue of putting 4GB in seems to be that the computer only recognises and uses the first 3.3GB.
     
  3. Igantius macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    #3
    There are quite a few reasonably active threads about this - so I would take a look, as I'm sure you would be able to work out what's best for (particularly as you haven't said what you're using the machine for).

    The maximum RAM you can install is 4GB, but the MB will only be able to access 3.3GB (there is a thread about the machine showing the full 4GB, but my money is on that it will only be able to access 3.3GB).

    Generally speaking, if you're a light user (eg word processing, email etc) 1GB will be fine, but a lot of people would recommend 2GB, whilst if you're going to be using CPU-intensive apps like Photoshop, go for 3GB.

    BTW Barefeats in its last tests used MBs with 4GBs.
     
  4. lulla01 thread starter macrumors 68020

    lulla01

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Location:
    U.S
    #4
    so i can get a 2 gb stick and a 1gb stick?and it will read 3 gb memory? because1 gb isnt cutting it.
     
  5. lulla01 thread starter macrumors 68020

    lulla01

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Location:
    U.S
  6. lulla01 thread starter macrumors 68020

    lulla01

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Location:
    U.S
    #6
    i mean why does apple say it maxes out at 2 gb? iam a noob at this what type of ram does the macbook support and can i get one 2 gb stick anda 1 gig or 512? and i use the pc for music light gaming(WOW,CS) and movies sometimes photos.

    It also says in the upgrade macbook thread that it maxes at 2 gb?
     
  7. chex macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    #7
    Apple say it maxes at 2gb not 3gb.

    This is because they want you to have matched RAM to help out the GPU, and they don't want to advocate 4GB because the computer will only use 3.3GB
     
  8. Igantius macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    #8
    That may be the case indeed. However, the GPU dip in not using matched pairs is very minor.

    Now I'm not saying that this is a reason why Apple did what it did, but until the recent MBP update, the differential in terms of specs between the MBP and MB was pretty closeand quite a few people argued that you didn't get a tremendous amount of extra stuff for the additional financial outlay - if both the machines were advertised as having identical memory, some might say that the argument for getting a MBP over MB was less strong than if the former could handle more memory.

    Certainly, in more than one review, in the round-up of pros and cons for the machine listed that one advantage of the MBPs was that it had 3GB of max RAM as opposed to 2GB.

    As I say, I'm not claiming that this was a sneaky strategy by Apple, but it hardly hurt the MBP marketing.
     
  9. Igantius macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    #9
    You can mix and match sticks, but from what you say you use your machine for I would recommend 2x1GB sticks as that would give you optimal perfomance.

    The MBs take DDR2 SDRAM 667 MHz, but most memory supplier websites will have option that will let you specify the machine and then it gives you the appropriate options.
     
  10. Edandlindz28 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2007
    Location:
    Colorado
  11. Igantius macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    #11
    That's the one I was thinking of!

    Worth pointing out that, although the MB may recognise 4GB has been installed, it can only access a max of 3.3GB during processes... unless someone can prove otherwise!
     
  12. lulla01 thread starter macrumors 68020

    lulla01

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Location:
    U.S
    #12
    so will my computer be harmed if i install one 1 gb stick and 1 2 gb stick?

    i work at sony and apple is downstairs i just went down and asked them what the max memory is they said 2 gb. The guy also said it was 350 to get 2 gb haha what a tool. Anyway im going to buy the memory if it is safe to have 2.5 or 3 gb of memory. Thanks
     
  13. lulla01 thread starter macrumors 68020

    lulla01

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Location:
    U.S
  14. Zer0 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
    #14
    that should be fine. Its the same price as what I paid for my 1 Gig stick 2 months ago :eek:
     
  15. lulla01 thread starter macrumors 68020

    lulla01

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Location:
    U.S
    #15
    so ultimately if i buy a 2 gb stick and a 1 gb stick is it worth it? and what should the cost be around? Will i see a significant difference between 3 gb and 2gb? keep in mind its a regular Macbook 2ghz core 2 duo and people are confusing me if it is compatable with 3 gb or 2 gb apple store says no 3 gb.

    ive decided to go with a upgrade of getting 2 gb dual channel memory foir it can someone link me to where i can purchase cheap?
     

Share This Page