Ram Question, Please Help

Discussion in 'iMac' started by nickyj182, Jan 31, 2009.

  1. nickyj182 macrumors regular

    nickyj182

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Location:
    Morehead, KY
    #1
    Hello,

    I have a 20 inch intel based iMac. Its the 2.16 GHz Intel Core 2 duo model. Under the Memory in the About this Mac panel it says I have 1 GB 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM. I am curious what the maximum amount of ram I can put into this Mac. Is the 1GB card it came with one card, or 2 512's? I wanna get her up to max ram asap because im upgrading to OSX 10.5. Any suggestions on where to buy ram would be appreciated too! Thanks a lot in advance!
     
  2. mickbab macrumors 65816

    mickbab

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #2
    To find out, go to "about this mac" then "more info", select "memory" from the side panel, and details are up the top.

    as to max ram, im not so sure.
     
  3. nickyj182 thread starter macrumors regular

    nickyj182

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Location:
    Morehead, KY
    #3
    thanks for the quick reply, it has 2 x 512 chips in it. Anyone know where I can find out the maximum capacity?
     
  4. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #4
    3GB DDR2 667 is the max for the 2.16GHz iMac.
     
  5. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #5
    Or 3.2 gb if you want to install 2x2 gb SO-DIMMs and retain dual-channel performance. Probably not worth it, though.
     
  6. nickyj182 thread starter macrumors regular

    nickyj182

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Location:
    Morehead, KY
  7. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #7
    Undoubtably. The question is, though, what apps do you routinely use?
     
  8. bflowers macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    #8

Share This Page