RAM Question...

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by philqc, Sep 8, 2010.

  1. philqc macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    #1
    Hi !

    Ok, so I have a 2.26 MBP 13"...
    It came new with 2 Go of RAM...
    When I boot it, it always have 1.36 Go
    of free RAM.

    Now, I updated it today with 4 Go RAM total
    (2 of 2) but when I boot it, there is only 3.10
    of free RAM and not 3.36...

    Is it normal ?

    Thanks !!
    ...I hope you can understand my frenglish...

    Philippe
     
  2. CW Jones macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Location:
    CT
    #2
    Yup totally normal. You use some to just turn the laptop on. I run 8GB in mine and haven't seen higher than 6.33GB free.
     
  3. MartyF81 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Location:
    Chicago IL
    #3
    It takes some RAM to run the OS and basic system processes.
     
  4. ljx718 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    #4
    the start up programs take up ram
     
  5. thecarrot macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    #5
    These guys are all wrong ^^^^...First of all OS X takes up RAM itself which will leave less available. If you have even one program open that will also take up some. Mainly though the OS uses some of the RAM and as such its not all available. I should also mention that startup programs take up RAM too. Hope this helps.
     
  6. CW Jones macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Location:
    CT
    #6
    Hmm.... running OS X would mean the laptop is ON correct? so... where was my statement wrong? O right... it wasn't. Maybe you said it clearer than I did... but it means the same thing.
     
  7. ljx718 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    #7
    how am i wrong if your one of your last sentences is exactly wha ti said?
     
  8. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #8
    The more RAM you have in your computer, the more OS X will use for the same tasks.

    Case and point: On a MacBook with 2GB of RAM it will use about 900MB and on my desktop with 12GB of RAM it will use 3GB during idle.
     
  9. philqc thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
  10. CW Jones macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Location:
    CT
    #10
    who knows... we are ALL wrong tho... haha I would say someone just wanted to feel important and use different wording to say the same thing. :eek:
     
  11. thecarrot macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    #11
    Guys its really not that complicated. I'm right and you guys are wrong. My statements were as clear as can be, I don't see where the confusion is :confused:
     
  12. CW Jones macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Location:
    CT
    #12
    arrogance is bliss.
     
  13. RWil85 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    #13
    You added absolutely no value to this thread. You simply repeated information from previous posts. Oh, and the confusion lies in your lack of punctuation and unsubstantiated arrogance, just so you know.

    I'm done feeding the troll. I simply cannot believe how ignorant some people are.
     

Share This Page