RAM question

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by kjmff5, Mar 4, 2012.

  1. kjmff5 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    #1
    I have 4 GB of RAM installed in my 2011 MBP(stock).

    Free 50MB
    Wired 958MB
    Active 2.05GB
    Inactive 988MB
    Used 3.95GB

    VM Size 203.14GB
    Page ins 6.14GB
    Page outs 4.57GB
    Swap used 2.74GB

    All I use this for is Safari, iMessage Beta, iCal, iTunes, MS Office/iWork, and Quicktime. Lots of flash with safari(YouTube and such). Also I am using it in clamshell mode with Apple Keyboard and Magic Mouse with 20" Acer display. Every now and then if I wanna webcam I'll have both screens running so I can use the built in webcam, but then I close the screen when not in use.

    I thought 4GB of RAM should do it, but do I need more?

    Thanks!
     
  2. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #2
    Considering your Page Outs, Free & Inactive RAM, I would suggest adding more RAM. Probably 8GB would help out just fine.
     
  3. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #3
    You can sort by Real Memory in Activity Monitor to see, what application takes up the most RAM and find your culprit.
    But it looks, like you could use an additional 4 GB RAM.

    8 GB RAM currently cost less than 50 USD via Newegg or Crucial or Corsair.

     
  4. kjmff5 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    #4
    Wow that was fast, and greatly appreciated. Question: Would my lack of "sufficient" RAM be the cause of why most YouTube videos are insanely choppy. I have to let the whole thing load before I can start watching it. Otherwise it'll play 2 seconds video, lag, but the audio will continue on without the video.

    I added a screen shot if you could take a look please.

    Thanks!
     

    Attached Files:

  5. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #5
    Yes, that certainly could be the culprit. The other possibility could be that your Internet connection is too slow.

    But you really should add more RAM. You'll see a big improvement in performance all around.
     

Share This Page