RAM question

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Phish311, Jan 4, 2008.

  1. Phish311 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    #1
    I have a new SR Blackbook and am going to upgrade to 4 gb Ram. My question is the 1 gb chip i have in now, can i give it to a friend who has an original macbook so he can upgrade and have 2gb in his?
     
  2. myusername macrumors member

    myusername

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2006
    #3
    Ram Question

    Check you system again, if you have a Blackbook, with 1 gig of ram you have (2) 512 chips not a single 1 GB chip, they come in matched pairs and need to be installed in pairs as well. Check the About this Mac window on your computer click more info and choose memory, that will tell you what the memory config is.
     
  3. Phish311 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    #4
    i have 2 512 chips in there. So if he does have 2 256 chips, i can hook him up with these i guess
     
  4. skyrider007 macrumors 65816

    skyrider007

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Location:
    Bangkok
    #5
    Yes you can! Your friend's memory will be 512mb+256mb = 768mb. It doesn't hurt to give it a try, the worst that can happen is your MB will beep if the RAM is not compatible. Simply put the old RAM(s) back and your problem will be solved.
     
  5. myusername macrumors member

    myusername

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2006
    #6
    Should be ok, all MacBooks use 200 pin PC2-5300 so upgrading the (2) 256 with the (2) 512 will work, just make sure you buy a pair of 2 gig chips, BTW will your MacBook recognize the 4 GB, it has to be an Intel Core 2 Duo not the older Core Duo.
     
  6. 4God macrumors 68020

    4God

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Location:
    My Mac
    #7
    Umm...I think the OP would want to have his friend install both of the 512's for a total of 1 gig.

    Not just Core 2 Duo, but Santa Rosa platform Core 2 Duo.
     
  7. Phish311 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    #8
    I have the new SR macbook so i know mine can hold up to 4 gigs. Just curious, from someone who has upgraded to 4 gigs, how much of a differences does it make?
     
  8. SrMasterSell macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Tampa, FL, USA
    #9
    a lot better

    I just upgraded to 4 gigs on my MacBook, it ROCKS!

    You will be glad you upgraded.
     
  9. skyrider007 macrumors 65816

    skyrider007

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Location:
    Bangkok
    #10
    Tell us more about how it rock!!
     
  10. Phish311 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    #11
    I'm about to order the RAM from crucial. from what i understand, it is very reliable RAM...any reason i shouldn't order from them, besides the price?
     
  11. Phish311 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
  12. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #13
    No reason. Crucial is a reliable company.

    Since we don't know where you are located, its hard to make other recommendations.

    Under the Guides tab at the top of this window, you will find many common questions answered.


    MR Guide to Buying RAM
     
  13. Phish311 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007

Share This Page