Ram Question

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by tmfd22, Apr 7, 2008.

  1. tmfd22 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    #1
    Ok, I am a recent Mac switcher, and I have dumb newbie question.

    I have an Aluminum iMac 2.4 ghz 320gb HD and currently 1gb of ram.
    I am looking to upgrade my ram, and I was wondering if I bought a 2gb stick of OWC brand ram, could I combine it with the apple ram and have 3 gb?

    Thanks
     
  2. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #2
    Click on the Apple in the top-left, choose "About This Mac" and click "More info".

    Under Memory on the left click on Memory. You can now see what is in each slot. You have 2 slots total.

    Edit to add: Assuming it's the current model you should have 1 free slot and 1 filled slot.
     
  3. mac-convert macrumors 6502a

    mac-convert

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Location:
    Are we there yet?
    #3
    Take a look at this deal at Crucial - I am about to order the 2x2GB set, under $100 now!
     
  4. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #4
    Yep...that machine comes with a 1 GB stick in one slot, and the other slot is empty. Just be sure you get the right kind of RAM (OWC's site makes it simple!), pop it in the empty slot, and you'll be running on 3 GB in no time. :)

    Or you could order an OWC kit for even cheaper. ;)
     
  5. tmfd22 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    #5
    Wow! That was fast. Thank you for your responses.
     
  6. mreg376 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #6
    I took that deal. The memory's great. My IMac runs like a greyhound.
     
  7. mac-convert macrumors 6502a

    mac-convert

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Location:
    Are we there yet?
    #7
    Yeah, I can't wait. Mine will be here Thursday. This thing should flat scream!
     

Share This Page