Ram Question

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by MacJohnson, Dec 25, 2008.

  1. MacJohnson macrumors regular

    MacJohnson

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Location:
    South Dakota
    #1
    Hey. I already have a fast brand new MBP...I have 4gb what is the max i can go out and what is the best ram out there for me to by..Just want to make it a lil faster.. Thanks
     
  2. MacJohnson thread starter macrumors regular

    MacJohnson

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Location:
    South Dakota
    #3
  3. MacJohnson thread starter macrumors regular

    MacJohnson

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Location:
    South Dakota
    #4
    would this work and be true or what should i know??
     
  4. nope7308 macrumors 65816

    nope7308

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #5
    Why do you want to upgrade to 6GB of RAM anyway? 99% of the time, that is complete overkill (that is, not necessary - you won't even notice the difference).

    If you're looking for a slight performance improvement, you're better off upgrading the HD to either 7200rpm or SSD (from the stock 5400rpm).
     
  5. mcavjame macrumors 65816

    mcavjame

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Location:
    phased to this universe
    #6
    I agree with nope. I read an article on barefeats a while back that indicated 6GB gave negligible performance boost. As your hard drive is the major bottleneck, the 7200rpm drive will definitely show a performance increase. And... the drive will cost far less than 6GB of RAM. (drive is from directcanada.com)
     

    Attached Files:

  6. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #7
    No it won't work because your computer comes with 4GB in a 2x2GB configuration and there are only 2 slots. The only upgrade path is to remove one of the 2GB sticks and buy one of these.
     
  7. ~Shard~ macrumors P6

    ~Shard~

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Location:
    1123.6536.5321
    #8
    For helpful information on Mac RAM, feel free to browse through our Guides as well. :)
     
  8. kastenbrust macrumors 68030

    kastenbrust

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Location:
    North Korea
    #9
    upgrading the ram from 4GB to 6GB is a complete waste of time as your not using a 64bit operating system, so you wont get even 1% performance increase, infact due to latency issues you'll make your computer slower. Im not going to explain the whole shimwaz but basically save your money for Snow Leopard first.
     
  9. MacJohnson thread starter macrumors regular

    MacJohnson

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Location:
    South Dakota
    #10
    sounds good..ill hold out guys. I went to the apple serial number place and put in my serial number. it says that its a 2.8ghz but i bought a 2.53 is the site a typo or is my mac really 2.8
     
  10. clyde2801 macrumors 601

    clyde2801

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Location:
    In the land of no hills and red dirt.
    #11
    What does your mac say about it? I'd trust it, personally.
     
  11. nope7308 macrumors 65816

    nope7308

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #12
    Are you sure you didn't purchase the 2.8Ghz model? Last time I checked, Apple doesn't hand out free upgrades...

    And even when Snow Leopard is released, I would still advise against buying 6GB of RAM. I can't imagine many situations where you would benefit from having that much RAM. It simply isn't worth the money.
     
  12. ~Shard~ macrumors P6

    ~Shard~

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Location:
    1123.6536.5321
    #13
    Yeah, unless you're doing some heavy duty Photoshop or Final Cut Pro work, I don't really see the the need either. 4 GB should do you just fine for now.
     
  13. MacJohnson thread starter macrumors regular

    MacJohnson

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Location:
    South Dakota
    #14
    Yea im sure becuase it says that its a 2.53 in about this mac
     
  14. nope7308 macrumors 65816

    nope7308

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #15
    What?

    The place where you find the serial number is under "About This Mac". If you check there, that will let you know which processor is in your machine. If it says 2.53Ghz, then you have the mid-level model.

    I'm not sure where you're getting the 2.8Ghz from, but you probably have the 2.53Ghz.
     
  15. ~Shard~ macrumors P6

    ~Shard~

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Location:
    1123.6536.5321
    #16
    And you verified the serial number which is cited in System Profiler as well, at the bottom of the system info which includes your proc speed?
     
  16. fleshman03 macrumors 68000

    fleshman03

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Location:
    Sioux City, IA
    #17
  17. thedomus macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    Location:
    Nr.London
    #18
    Its all good!

    It does depend on what apps you use frequently!
    I'm a power Logic user with daily use of large sample libraries with the EXS24 and PLAY engines on both a MacPro and a MBPro and swapping out one of the 2GB slots for 4GB has made a huge operating difference to Logic on a MBPro, and thats with 5400RPM HD!!!
    Barefeats was not that negative about the performance hit with 6GB (4 and 2GB mismatch) contrary to some comments here.
     

Share This Page