RAM Question

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by jpk32092, Dec 28, 2008.

  1. jpk32092 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Boston
    #1
    Lets get this out of the way first: yes, I did search, couldn't find the answer. :D

    Now to the point:
    MacBook
    2.16 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
    2 GB 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM

    Its a mid 2007 MacBook, I don't know what generation (if anyone could tell me, that would be great. I purchased it from the apple store in august of 07)

    I have 2 GB of RAM, and i was wondering if I could go any higher, and if I did, would I notice a difference?

    Thhankss
     
  2. jpk32092 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Boston
    #3
    hmm that appears to be for the core duo. I have a core 2 duo if that affects it at all?
    I remember hearing about someone saying they put a 1 GB and a 2 GB in the same model, is that possible? And would there be a difference?
     
  3. DZ/015 macrumors 6502a

    DZ/015

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Location:
    New England
    #4
    Your system can address up to 3GB of ram.

    You can put more in, but it will not be seen.
     
  4. youssefm macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    #5
    you could use a 1gb and a 2gb chip for a maxed out 3gb.. you can just put 2 2 gb chips so its cheaper but the macbook will only recognize the 3gb, not 4
     
  5. ChrisN macrumors 65816

    ChrisN

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Location:
    Demarest, NJ
  6. jpk32092 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Boston
    #7
    would i notice a difference between the 2 and the 3?
     

Share This Page