RAM Question

Discussion in 'iMac' started by lehman310, Apr 24, 2010.

  1. lehman310 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    #1
    I was wondering if anyone has used Memory Masters as a brand for there RAM. I would like to buy from Crucial but Memory Masters is all that I can buy since I have a Best Buy giftcard. Also, will the RAM in the link work? (I think because its Pc3-8500 but I'm not sure). Lastly, If you have upgraded from 4gb to 8gb have you noticed improved boot times or performance? Thanks

    Here is the link: http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Memory+...+Kit/9502335.p?id=1218115621219&skuId=9502335

    Ooops, forgot to add that I am on a 21.5 iMac with 3.06 Core 2 Duo
     
  2. MacRuler macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    #2
    if u want to improve start up times and overall performance, i would really suggest a SSD drive, ram will help if you run lots of programs at once, i dont think it will help to much in start up time. :apple:
     
  3. lehman310 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    #3
    I would love to use a SSD but they are EXTREMELY expensive and I thought RAM would be a cheaper upgrade. So will this RAM work or is Memory Master's cheap unusable memory
     
  4. TMRaven macrumors 68020

    TMRaven

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #4
    Apple amazes me. They offer a 128gb ssd in their high end macbookpros for only 200usd, but they don't even begin to offer one for the iMacs.

    200usd for 128gb ssd? That's extremely well priced.


    It looks as though apple's pushing for SSDs in all computers on the market, so I wouldn't be surprised if later imacs offer the option. When they do, I'm going down to an apple store and letting them swap my hdd for ssd.
     
  5. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #5
    Apple uses Toshiba's SSDs which aren't that good compared to e.g. Intel. iMacs problem is that it uses 3.5" drives and SSD would be a huge downgrade from 2TB HDs. Apple must design it so that there is space for SSD and 3.5" HD

    @OP: Yes, that RAM should be compatible
     
  6. MacHamster68 macrumors 68040

    MacHamster68

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #6
    i always think apple wasted a lot of space in the iMac , if they cant even find space for a ssd in there ssd as bootdrive and a hdd for storage would be ideal
    and the smallest ssd is just that big
    [​IMG]
    so even apple should be able to find some space for such a small ssd ,despite their slim ,slimmer, slimmest build of the new iMacs nobody would care if they would have made it a quarter inch thicker to get a ssd in there:confused:
     

Share This Page