RAM selection for Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by bigsnowdog, Dec 6, 2010.

  1. bigsnowdog macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    #1
    My refurbished Mac Pro is arriving this week. It has 3Gb of RAM. I want to add to that.

    I read that it uses 3 pieces of 1Gb RAM. Looking at the selection from OWC, it seems the 4Gb are the most affordable.

    I could get 3, so I had 12, or I could get 2, and then use 2 of the 1Gb, making a total of 10. Does that work, or is it violating some technical requirement?

    If you got 3 pieces of the 4Gb, could you run those with the last slot containing a 1Gb, or is that bad?

    Thank you.
     
  2. johnnymg macrumors 65816

    johnnymg

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    #2
    3x4GB + 1x1GB (which will run all mem in "single channel" mode) will work fine!!!! The difference in app performance will be less than 3% compared to running a triple channel (3x modules) configuration.

    congrats on the new MP!
    JohnG
     
  3. bigsnowdog thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    #3
    So, you are saying that putting that piece of 1 in with the others technically slows it down?
     
  4. johnnymg macrumors 65816

    johnnymg

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    #4
    Do you think you would notice a 3% difference? :p
     
  5. bigsnowdog thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    #5
    No, not at all. I just wanted to understand.
     
  6. vogelhausdesign macrumors regular

    vogelhausdesign

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Location:
    Columbus, Ohio
    #6
    The general Consensus is aim for Triple channel if you can afford it, but more ram is always better.. as the tri-channel benefits are applicable in only a select number of applications and instances.
     
  7. bigsnowdog thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    #7
    Are any of the applications common? Can you offer an example?
     

Share This Page