Ram & SSD upgrades. MB Pro 5.5

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by skylinez, May 21, 2013.

1. skylinez macrumors newbie

Hey, this is my first post here - I have been using a MacBook Pro since 2010ish, I have the 5.5 model. I have Intel Core 2 Duo Processor, with 2 gigs of ram. I have 160gb of storage.

I use my computer on a daily basis, for Web Design/Development, DJing, and Schoolwork (college).

I do not have the money to upgrade to a better, more powerful macbook. I do have the money to make some upgrades to my Mac:

- In terms of upgrading memory, 8gb is my capacity - is this overkill? or is 4gb enough?

-I have almost 80gb on my hard drive as music. If I move this to an external drive, will it increase performance? For DJing, will it operate the same when playing music off an external drive instead of on the internal drive

-What are your thoughts on Solid State Drives?

The final question I will ask the good people here: If you were in my position, what is the best way of upgrading my MacBook Pro - that I will be able to work efficiently without problems for the next couple years. I can spend about $150 every other month on upgrades.

2. Pearl Wisdom macrumors member

I've recently done similar upgrades. If you have been encountering spinning beach balls and other such pauses that indicate you are swapping memory to and from disk, then I would do the upgrade to 8 GB RAM first. In my usage pattern, particularly having many multi-tabbed Safari windows open, I find that I needed the 8 GB. I think it is better to just go to the 8 GB rather than 4 GB which might not be quite enough. Of course, you should also use the Activity Monitor to check how much free memory you have and how much swap you are using - that should give you a good indication of how useful the memory upgrade will be.