RAM Swap?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Hockeyislife91, Jan 27, 2011.

  1. Hockeyislife91 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Location:
    Arizona
    #1
    Hey forums, I just ordered some RAM for my Mid 2010 15in MBP and was curious if I could take the old 2gb RAM sticks out of my MBP and put it in my girlfriend's Late 2008 Macbook?

    It is a 2Ghz C2D and has 2gb 1067 MHz DDR3 RAM as per the "About this Mac" Page but I want to make sure this swap will work before I open up her macbook.

    Additionally, is there anything I need to do to the RAM before switching it to another macbook?
     
  2. JamesGorman macrumors 65816

    JamesGorman

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Location:
    Winnipeg
  3. Jaro65 macrumors 68040

    Jaro65

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #3
    Actually, I would try not to.... :)
     
  4. Hockeyislife91 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Location:
    Arizona
    #4
    is there a specific reason why not?
     
  5. darknite38 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    #6
    No.
     
  6. Hockeyislife91 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Location:
    Arizona
    #7
    But do you think this is ok to do?
     
  7. Hockeyislife91 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Location:
    Arizona
    #8
    I don't know much about stuff on this level but I did check and the RAM in my 2010 MBP matches up to the RAM in my gf's 2008 Macbook

    1067 MHz DDR3

    is the RAM in both.

    Has anyone done this, heard of this being done, I've searched and haven't found much
     
  8. dusk007 macrumors 68040

    dusk007

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    #9
    If both Notebooks use DDR3 aka PC3 RAM than all you have to do is remove it from one and put it into the other. And if one is DDR2 you will not be able to put the RAM in without destroying anything.
    Jaro meant you shouldn't damage it in the process or hit it with a hammer for fun.
    They don't break easily and the Notebook will detect the RAM on its own if you put it in right.
    You don't have to do ANYTHING at all but switch it.
     
  9. nospeed411 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Location:
    east coast
    #10
    Yes you will be fine. I frequently repurpose RAM in my house. I just swapped some in my daughters MB that came from my MBP.
     
  10. Hockeyislife91 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Location:
    Arizona

Share This Page