RAM upgrade before/after initial boot?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Domino8282, Jun 8, 2011.

  1. Domino8282 macrumors 6502a

    Domino8282

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Location:
    Southeast USA
    #1
    I know RAM is everyone's favorite topic around here, so here's another RAM thread!!!

    Seriously though, and I apologize if this is a stupid question...

    My iMac has yet to arrive. Does it make any difference if I go through the initial boot-up before or after adding an additional 8GB of aftermarket RAM to my iMac? Do I need to hold down any special keys during boot to make it scan for new hardware or anything like that?

    Please excuse my ignorance... Never upgraded RAM on a Mac before.
     
  2. phlydude macrumors regular

    phlydude

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Location:
    Newark, DE
    #2
    I put mine in before I ever turned mine on - no issues whatsoever
     
  3. Domino8282 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Domino8282

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Location:
    Southeast USA
    #3
    Perfect, thank you. :) That's all I wanted to know!
     
  4. Electricidad macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    #4
    It doesn't matter. First boot is the same as its last boot.
     
  5. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #5
    a disadvantage is if you put the new ram in before it boots and things go south, you will have to do additional troubleshooting to find out if the problem is with the system you bought or the new ram.
     
  6. Electricidad macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    #6
    Oooooh, he will have to remove two ram modules, a whole 30 seconds of labor....
     
  7. Peteman100 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Location:
    Berkeley, CA
    #7
    Come on. It's a reasonable point. Its better to isolate variables in any troubleshooting situation.
     
  8. GrantMeThePower macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    #8
    This is what I did.

    It is a decision because of what is later mentioned in the thread-if something is wrong, you'll have to remove the ram to see if that was the problem or if it was something else.

    The fact that the screen had the protective plastic on it, that i already had the imac in a different room that i was installing it, and that I'd rather set it down where i wanted it once gave me reason enough to do the RAM before the initial boot. It really doesn't matter unless there is a problem. I'm glad i put it in first.
     

Share This Page