RAM upgrade for 13"

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by s4forum18, Jun 19, 2012.

1. s4forum18 macrumors newbie

Getting a new 13" MBP to upgrade my 07, 15". My question is about 8GB RAM. There is a $30 difference from Apples price to what I can get it aftermarket. I know it doesn't void the warranty but do you guys feel that what Apple offers is superior (or lacking?/or equal). I'm new to upgrading but the process seems extremely simple.

I believe 8GB will be enough for me. Light Photoshop, the usual items, plus D3 (which I have been waiting to play due to the lack of a computer). Or is 4 plenty?

I know the price is not much but if I go the Apple way I have to wait a week for the computer..or I can just go down and grab the 4gb tonight...and like many of you I am going crrazzy =X

BTW, first time poster - !!

2. simsaladimbamba

3. InlawBiker macrumors 6502

Personally, I would just get it with 8gb straight from Apple and save yourself a little hassle.

But if you're going to upgrade it yourself you may as well put 16GB into it. The total cost is about $120 from Newegg. I have upgraded the old Macbooks, not the Pros. But if they're anything alike it's a piece of cake.

I would not bother trying to use 4GB of RAM, you will bump into the upper limit eventually.

4. s4forum18 thread starter macrumors newbie

I know I would have to get the kit and I am leading towards just waiting and letting Apple do it. I've been reading a lot around here the last couple of days and since I don't do any video processing ,etc. it seems 16gb is overkill for what I am trying to achieve.

My plan is too grab an SSD when prices drop a bit and either replace the original or throw it into the Optical drive. Seems like an awesome idea to make a killer computer for a great price.