RAM Upgrade for early 2008 MB Pro - 2GB + 1GB?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by bear1973, Apr 19, 2013.

  1. bear1973 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2006
    #1
    Hi,

    I just added a 2GB Crucial DIMM to my early 2008 MB Pro. I thought adding one 2GB would bring me to 4GB, but found two 1GB cards in the memory slots. So, I added the new 2GB and kept one 1GB, thinking I'd have 3GB. But according to my Hardware overview, I still only have 2GB.

    Can you use a 1GB and a 2GB DIMM card for a total of 3GB, or do I need another 2GB Card?

    On another note, at least in terms of browsing, it's like I have a new machine. I don't know if it's the new card, but pages are loading twice as fast - right at start-up.

    Thanks.
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    Normally the early 2008 MBP supports up to 6 GB of 200-pin DDR2 SO-DIMM RAM, thus 3 GB should work.

    Go into the Utilities folder, open System Profiler / System Information and check the Hardware > Memory section to see, what is recognised.
     
  3. bear1973 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2006
    #3
    This is what it's showing. I'm guessing the second card just wasn't put in properly. I'll reinstall it.



    BANK 0/DIMM0:

    Size: 2 GB
    Type: DDR2 SDRAM
    Speed: 667 MHz
    Status: OK
    Manufacturer: 0x7F7F7F7F7F9B0000
    Part Number: 0x4354323536363441433636372E4D31364648
    Serial Number: 0x00000000

    BANK 1/DIMM1:

    Size: Empty
    Type: Empty
    Speed: Empty
    Status: Empty
    Manufacturer: Empty
    Part Number: Empty
    Serial Number: Empty
     
  4. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #4
    The new card seems to be alright, the 1 GB module seems to be not being recognised (?).
     
  5. bear1973 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2006
    #5
    Got it - wasn't installed properly!

    The 1 GB card wasn't installed properly - doh! It's all working now.

    But OH MY GOD - I can't believe what one new 2GB card - and now 3GB altogether - does to the performance of this machine. Websites load twice as fast, applications open almost instantly, wish I had done this a long time ago! A couple of weeks ago I dropped this machine and killed the hard drive. I had a new 500 GB HD installed and decided, since I was giving this machine a new lease on life (I was going to upgrade on the next revision), I'd throw some more RAM in it. What a difference. This should get me through 2014 now.
     
  6. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #6
    And once you can spend more money on more RAM (another 4 GB module should cost around 60 USD) and even an SSD (80 USD for 128 GB, 150 USD for 256 GB), that machine might even work longer.
     

Share This Page