RAM upgrade for MacBook Pro

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by arbj, Jan 30, 2013.

  1. arbj macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    #1
    Hi,

    I have been searching through the net and I found this excellent guide for upgrading the RAM on the MacBook Pro.

    https://discussions.apple.com/thread/2501353?start=0&tstart=0

    As suggested by I used the computer and instead of shutting down I put it in sleep mode, and the next day I checked the page in and page out levels, and I found these

    Page In: 3.94 GB
    Page Out: 1.21 GB

    The percentage of the ins and outs is 30%.

    Do you think I should upgrade to a higher RAM, I currently have 4 GB, is it possible to upgrade to more than 8 GB. I have not opened the computer yet, I think there should be 2 slots in the motherboard (as per apple guide).

    I use Open Office Drawing a lot, with several pages open all the time, a few chrome browser windows also remain open. I also use VirtualBox (runs Windows XP) a lot, in fact I would prefer to keep this open all the time.

    I find the computer slows down considerably after the above programs are run.

    My second query...

    Is it OK to keep the macbook pro in sleep mode, instead of shutting down. I start work at 9 AM, finish at 5 PM , the laptop is run on the power adapter even though the battery is fully charged.

    I rarely use the laptop at home, so I keep the laptop in sleep mode until the next day till 9 AM. The battery charge lost is just 6%.

    thanks
    a
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    If you have a Unibody MacBook Pro, 8 GB is possible, since 2011 even 16 GB is possible.

    More RAM is always helpful, and it seems, you could use 2 more GB, thus getting 8 GB of RAM (if your machine supports it, you did not mention your model) of 204-pin DDR3 SO-DIMM RAM for 50 USD or one 4 GB module of 200-pin DDR2 SO-DIMM RAM (if your Mac only supports 6 GB and is not a Unibody MacBook Pro) is something to do.


    If you want to enhance the performance of your Mac, be sure to check these two articles, do not just use applications, that promise to do it for you.
     
  3. arbj thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    #3
    Re

    Thanks for the reply..

    I received the macbook pro as a gift, so I do not have much documentation with me, such as user manuals, specification sheets etc., I was told that these could be downloaded from the internet...

    How do I identify whether it is a Unibody MacBook Pro or something else ??

    From Apple menu, 'About This Mac' I got this information..

    Processor: 2.2 Ghz Intel Core i7
    Memory: 4 GB 1333 MHz DDR3

    Mac OS X Lion 10.7.5 (11G63b)

    Please let me know if this is enough..

    thanks
    a
     
  4. swerve147 macrumors 6502a

    swerve147

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    #4
    Sounds like a late 2011 uMBP (link)

    Try entering your serial number here:

    https://selfsolve.apple.com/agreementWarrantyDynamic.do

    And it should come back with the year of your model (as well as the status of your warranty).
     
  5. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #5
    It is a 2011 model, which can take 16 GB of RAM.
     
  6. arbj thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    #6
    Re:

    I found some more information on the system...

    RAM Details

    BANK 0/DIMM0:

    Size: 2 GB
    Type: DDR3
    Speed: 1333 MHz
    Status: OK
    Manufacturer: 0x80CE
    Part Number: 0x4D34373142353737334448302D4348392020
    Serial Number: 0x003F5FCF

    BANK 1/DIMM0:

    Size: 2 GB
    Type: DDR3
    Speed: 1333 MHz
    Status: OK
    Manufacturer: 0x80CE
    Part Number: 0x4D34373142353737334448302D4348392020
    Serial Number: 0x003F699F

    System Details

    Model Name: MacBook Pro
    Model Identifier: MacBookPro8,2
    Processor Name: Intel Core i7
    Processor Speed: 2.2 GHz
    Number of Processors: 1
    Total Number of Cores: 4
    L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
    L3 Cache: 6 MB
    Memory: 4 GB
    Boot ROM Version: MBP81.0047.B27
    SMC Version (system): 1.69f3
    Sudden Motion Sensor:
    State: Enabled

    Checking from the link posted by swerve147 the warranty is still valid, so that rules out buying RAM from ebay and doing the job at home ...

    thanks anyway
    ar
     
  7. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #7
    Um, no it doesn't.

    RAM and HDD are considered user serviceable parts in that computer. Just buy good RAM, not the cheap junk on ebay. I suggest checking out Corsair, Crucial and g.skill. Newegg and Amazon often have good prices. If you live near a Fry's Electronics, they have deals sometimes as well.

    Anyway, I do suggest that you keep the original RAM for troubleshooting purposes.
     
  8. swerve147 macrumors 6502a

    swerve147

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    #8
    Yeah, installing RAM does not void your warranty, sorry for the confusion. As T5BRICK states above you should hold onto your original RAM in case you run into any issues, otherwise RAM is a user-servicable part.
     
  9. bobcan macrumors 6502a

    bobcan

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Location:
    Sunny but Cold.. Canada
    #9
    MBP 8,2 ~ same as yours _ with 2x 8GB


    Hello.. I have the same exact MBP 8,2 model as you..

    I have had 2x 8GB sticks in it for months, they work great and are so cheap now that I would not hesitate to do it.. ** Truthfully, as I just added the Link, it appears to have Gone Up in price about $15 lately, but still CHEAP!!

    Installation instructions are here, and quite simple to do.. Just make sure you have a GOOD Quality Phillips #00 Screwdriver, or you can strip the screws if not careful.. ** Cheap Tools = Troubled Repairs!! :apple:
     
  10. LachlanH macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    #10
    Regarding you original question of do you need more RAM, yes, more would be better.

    It certainly isn't going to blow your socks off in terms of a performance improvement but it is still a good idea.

    As stated, you have 2 x 2gb SODIMM's for a total of 4gb.

    Your Macbook only has 2 memory slots, so you will need to ditch the current sticks and put in either 2 x 4gb sticks for 8gb total or 2x 8gb sticks for a total of 16gb.

    16gb would probably be overkill but the price different between 8gb and 16gb isn't huge so you may as well go with 16gb.

    Apple doesn't officially support 16gb on your laptop so hold onto your 2x 2gb sticks. If you ever have to take the laptop in to the store, you should swap the old memory back in so there are no dramas.
     
  11. arbj, Feb 1, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2013

    arbj thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    #11
    Re:

    Thanks everyone for the tip..about 16GB. This has been the most insightful topic for me...

    Indeed I am considering 16GB instead of 8 GB.
    As I mentioned earlier my model is a 15 inch Late 2011 MacBook Pro. Here is apple's details on the model's RAM

    Double Data Rate Small Outline Dual Inline Memory Module (DDR3) format
    - 30mm (1.18 inch)
    - 2 GB or 4 GB
    - 204-pin
    - PC3-10600 DDR3 1333 MHz type RAM

    Link: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1270?viewlocale=en_US

    The maximum RAM mentioned is 8 GB, do you think 16GB will be supported ??

    I have been checking ebay (indian site, as I live in India) for 8 GB RAMs. And I have found some of these links that look OK.


    The search page...http://www.ebay.in/sch/i.html?_trksid=p3907.m570.l1313&_nkw=macbook+pro+ram+8gb+1333mhz+DDR3&_sacat=0&_from=R40

    This Transcend looks fine..
    http://www.ebay.in/itm/Transcend-16GB-8GB-x2-DDR3-1333MHz-Apple-Mac-Book-pro-Laptop-Memory-RAM-/251222607222?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_203&hash=item3a7e08c576#ht_3937wt_908

    There are some others as well..

    http://geb.ebay.in/g/ImportHubViewItem?itemid=320870568984&16GB-2x8GB-PC3-10600S-DDR3-1333MHz-SODIMM-Memory-Apple-iMac-MacBook-Pro

    Also I have another question...

    The speed mentioned in the Activity Monitor is 1333Mhz. Does this mean the RAM speed should also be the same ??? I have seen some others with other speeds, so these will not work on my laptop ??

    thanks
    a
     
  12. brop52, Feb 2, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2013

    brop52 macrumors 68000

    brop52

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan
    #12
    You should use the same RAM to avoid potential compatibility issues. 16GB is the max.
     
  13. Giuly macrumors 68040

    Giuly

    #13
    Kingston HyperX Plug'n'Play would be the best you can get for that particular Mac.
     
  14. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #14
    Thats a 2011 15in uMBP.

    Technically, according to intel, that model can handle up to 32GB DDR3.
    But no such module exist so not certain.

    It can go up to 16GB for sure though.
    I recommend Corsair 1333MHz model which is around 70USD.
    You can get 1600MHz model for around 100USD.
     
  15. tdl83 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2014
    #15
    Updating my MacBook Pro 13- inch, Mid 2009

    Processor: 2.26 Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo
    Memory : 2GB 1067 Mhz DDR3
    Graphics: Nvidia GeForce 9400M 256MB
    Software: OS X 10.9.2 (13C64)

    1 GB in 2 slots.
    My Mac contains 2 memory slots, each of which accepts
    a 1067 MHz DDR3 memory module.

    Is it possible to use 1333 Mhz DDR3?
    How Much Ram ( GB ) can each slot use...?
     
  16. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #16
    You have 2 slots.
    Each can take 4GB, for a maximum of 8GB.

    Your question about 1333 MHz DDR3 - yes, the higher speed will likely work.
    Of course, your older MBPro won't take advantage of that higher speed - it will just clock the chip down to the bus speed...
     
  17. tdl83 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2014
  18. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #18
    Depends on the MBPro model that you have. Your 2009 MBPro 13-inch has a system bus of 1066 MHz. Some Macs will support a higher RAM bus speed, but I have no idea about your specific Mac.
    In general, most Macs will support a step higher RAM speed, sometimes two steps higher. It just won't actually work faster.
     
  19. tdl83 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2014
    #19
    Updating my MacBook Pro 13- inch, Mid 2009

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by tdl83 View Post
    Processor: 2.26 Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo
    Memory : 2GB 1067 Mhz DDR3
    Graphics: Nvidia GeForce 9400M 256MB
    Software: OS X 10.9.2 (13C64)

    1 GB in 2 slots.
    My Mac contains 2 memory slots, each of which accepts
    a 1067 MHz DDR3 memory module.

    What make is best for new ramm?
    Different ramm i have seen online have different number of pins, What number of pins would i need?
     
  20. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #20
    You need 204-pin DDR3 SO-DIMM RAM, 8 GB is the maximum, G.Skill and Corsair and Crucial are quite good brands with good reputation.



    As for the speed, I have a 2009 MBP with 8 GB of 1333 MHz RAM, at least the Mac tells me, it recognises the RAM, but if it really runs at that speed, I cannot tell.
     

Share This Page